Experience helping out on a Carp fishing lake in Beaupouyet, South West France

Country

France

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/07/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we run carp fishing lake in South West France and would love to host volunteers to give us a helping hand around the lake. We have 4 kids so I'm at the house and cooking and my husband has to do all the work alone, we could both use a hand and some company! We have a lovely vegetable garden, poly tunnel and orchard all of which are getting a bit neglected and we want to plant more trees, plan more gardens but there are only 24 hrs in the day!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Dordogne is a lovely region to visit and we are ten minutes away from the railway station that can take you to Bordeaux (1hr) or Perigueux (1hr) so you can live in the country but visit the towns and see a bit of French life. We have a mobile home right next to the lake so that you can have a bit of privacy and lake views. For those who like fishing, life on a fishing lake is ideal but also for those who like antiques or bric a brac our region has many vide greniers (car boot sales) which you could visit and take home some lovely French furniture or fabrics. The restaurants around are super, very affordable and classic French for those foodies among you!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi there, we have a carp fishing lake in South West France and would like people to come and help us care for the garden, work on the lake, cutting trees, planting trees, creating orchards, taking dead trees out of the lake and cutting firewood.
    We also would appreciate help with lighter things like house work and child care or cooking!
    We would also like to learn new languages as my children are home schooled but we are quite happy with English or French as well!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a one bedroom mobile home next to the lake with kitchen and living area sofa and tv. The washroom is separate but only 10m away and has a shower, toilet, sink and washing machine. We lived in it when we only had one child and it is warm, comfortable and light. It overlooks the lake and is very peaceful. It is about 50m from the house so you are quite private. I do the cooking and pay for the food as a thankyou for the work, it is the same food that I cook for the family but I send it up so that you can eat it al fresco overlooking the lake or at the table inside in case of bad weather. We have 4 kids who are young so we don't expect people to eat with us!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is the first time we have done this but as we run a carp fishing lake we are entirely used to hosting people. I've just had 3 kids in 4 years (4 kids in total) and we were great travelers previously, this may be a way to bring the world to us! Also I would enjoy a conversation that is not about children or carp!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.


Host ref number: 769425434752