Help our family with some painting and decorating in exchange for a room in beautiful countryside 5 mins train from Bath, England


United Kingdom

Favourited 114 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    We are a family of 4, myself Emma, jacob my husband and our 2 young kids - plus our cat Charlie. We live in one of the most beautiful parts of the UK in the stunning village of Freshford, just 12 minutes drive and 5 minutes train journey to the stunning Georgian town Bath.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a fun creative family who lives in a beautiful part of the UK. We are surrounded by incredible countryside. They have the stunning city of Bath is only 5 mins train ride away - it's idyllic.

  • Help


    About us
    We need hard working experienced help (or at least someone who knows about painting and prepping walls) painting our house which includes the kitchen, sitting room, Bath room, bedrooms and play room. We need someone who is great with kids, helpful with tiding/cleaning and who is self sufficient and motivated.

    Our house is 3 stories and has been renovated although it's an old Georgian house and there are many parts that need doing. Your room is freshly painted with a lovely bed and chest of drawers. You are right next to the main bathroom which overlooks the beautiful garden and fields beyond. The kitchen is average size and easy to cook in. Feel free to relax in the sitting room or go out in the evening. We tend to stay in as we prefer to relax but please join us or do as you please. We like people to feel part of the family so use the house as if it's your home.

    You will sometimes need to cook for yourself for breakfast and lunch but we will provide all the ingedience. I will try and prepare a main meal most nights. You'll have to muck in and adjust to family life as the kids are bouncing bundles of energy!

    The kids are great fun and were surrounded by stunning countryside with direct train access to Bath and bradford on Avon. We often go swimming down at the local river at the bottom of the hill at weekends ( if sunny ) or have picnics after school. The local village pub at the bottom of the hill has just been refurbished and offers incredible food, infuses its own spirits and is one of the most idyllic spots to spend a lazy Sunday. We are surrounded by wonderful walks with the canal cycle track directly into Bath.

    I am a product design mentor and work with the government promoting STEM. Jacob is an ex-sailor and runs his own Estate Agents.

    I am happy to help with any English in my spare time and open to the hours that you would need free for your own time in the day and evening.

    We look for 25hours p/week and we can talk about how that is managed. It may be a full days work one day and only a few hours the next.

    We need someone who is organised and willing to help with some DIY, house work and childcare. Our kids are great fun but you will have to get used to a busy family with kids that talk a lot and are inquisitive.

    We look forward to hearing from you.
    Best wishes
    Emma, Jacob, Oliver and Eva x

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Medium sized room with double very comfortable bed (made very comfortable with layers of feather and foam toppers, with a chest of drawers and lamps. Newly painted and decorated.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is the beautiful world heritage city of Bath only 10 minutes drive or 5 mins train ride away. We also have iford manor 15 minutes walk down the road and the fantastic Freshord pub 2 mins walk across the fields. We are in an area of outstanding natural beauty so you will have the beautiful countryside to explore or visit Frome markets or Green Street food markets every Saturday morning for incredible local food. Bristol is only 15 minutes on the train and you can get a train directly from freshford.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 769326353183