Helping our family on our farm on Kangaroo island, South Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 343 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/09/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1022

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I live on a farm. We have 2 lovely twins 5 year old daughters and artie 2 year old
    we manage a sheep farm. I am a swimming instructor and beauty therapist and my husband is a sheep shearer. We grow our own organic veggies. We live 650 acres with 2 fresh water lagoons that you can kayak on, sheep dogs chase , chooks we also have plenty of wildlife ie Wallabys, possums and Kangaroos. We need help in many areas depending on your skills. We would prefer someone who loves small children, someone wanting au-pair work would be awesome.

    We are very lucky family and our farm has not been effected by the fire there is still
    Lots to do and see on kangaroo island

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning English and see how an Aussie family live and work on a farm.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers work for 4 - 5 hours a day for their food and board and the rest of the time you are free to do whatever you like. Work is varied, depending on skills, but feeding the animals, collecting eggs, helping in the vegge garden helping with the kids, housework and whatever we are doing at the time you come to stay.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Living with us a a family in your own room and you go where-ever we go you come with us as as long as you want to.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So much to see on beautiful Kangaroo island having your own vehicle would make life very easy for you but you can go on bus tours. We live 20 minutes from the main town on 650 acres with 2 fresh water lagoons lots of birds and wildlife. If you have a telstra phone and wifi you will have internet access

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)





















Host ref number: 352498752119