Help with some projects around my home, enjoy boating and watersports with me in Orlando, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 216 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Bill and I am a born and raised Floridian. I grew up here in Central Florida and have lived here all my life. I am well-traveled and have been to more Than 20 countries. I love meeting and learning about other cultures and entertaining guests. My girlfriend, Fabienne is from Switzerland and introduced me to the whole Workaway. I bought my house in August of 2018 and with a slight permitting delay I officially started it in February of 2019 by November of 2019 I had successfully added almost 2000 sq ft and for all practical purposes rebuilt all 3600 sq ft of it. So once I got it liveable with flooring, electric, hvac etc I met Fabienne Around November of 2019 and with Fabienne's help and over 10 workawayers, we put the finishing touches on it over those 4 months and in March of 2020 we declared it done.
    If you build your own house there is never an end. So some of the next projects you might find yourself helping with are building a 2000 sq ft pool deck and pool, finishing the phase II of the lakeside tiki bar, a huge oversized garage, landscaping, lake maintenance, no two days are ever the same around here Owning a compound is hard work! but we party like the best of them!

    People ask why workaway? well our goal is to have a friend in every country! it's way more fun to stay or play when you know a local!

    As you can imagine I do know a lot about everything you need to know to build a house, so I can teach you all kinds of different things. But I like to learn everyday something new, so if you can teach me something, even better. I promise I can teach you anything you'd like to know about construction, or realestate, or manufacturing.

    Fabienne has traveled to a lot of places and speaks 4 languages. She takes great care of the house and any needs that people might have such as guests, friends and family. For her it's very important that everybody is comfortable and feels good, so she balances most of the things out.

    Our dog Vicii is imported from Switzerland, she was born in Spring 2019 and is a mix (Border Collie, bernese mountain dog, labrador and Belgian shepherd) She is super sweet and used to people.

    So what are we looking for? Life is not about the knowledge you may or may not already have it's about your eagerness to learn that which you do not already know or your eagerness to possibly learn a new way to do something you've done before. There are two types of people I've found on workaway. People that want to share culture, and Ideas and Knowledge and like to have fun and are eager to help with whatever the task at hand is! Then there are those that are mopey, think they know everything, and or just want to do the absolute minimal amount of effort in day to day life. We really are looking for people with a work hard play hard type of attitude some days could be long but I promise to make up for those with even more amounts of fun! We go wake surfing out on the boat, and usually take two days off a week for some fun-filled activities and we always play volleyball most Wednesdays. I have a huge network of friends in central Florida and people are always stopping by as you can tell my house is quite social so you should be too as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Bill is born and raised in Orlando so he knows the area quite well I have been doing waters ports since he was 5 years old so we can take the boat out on the lake and partake in many watersports. I have a degree from university of Central Florida in business management and own a manufacturing company as well as sell real estate, and I have short term rental properties.

    Fabienne speaks, swiss german, german, french and english and backpackt thought Mexico, Colombia, cuba and europe. Traveling to her doesn't mean seeing new places, take pictures and post them online. She wants to meet local people, learn more about their culture, try the local food and so on.
    She is a positive person with a go-getter attitude. If there are any new, interesting outdoor activities that she can learn, she probably won't say no to try it out. She grew up in a family hotel and knows how to take care of guests.

  • Help

    Help

    The big project is the pool, we didn't decide yet when exactly we will start with that, but it will happen this year. Beside the pool we will have a lot of other smaller projects. Woodwork, organizing, gardening, some painting, flooring, cleaning etc. If you can follow instructions we can teach I built the whole house myself.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Lakefront house, private /shared bedroom, bathroom & half-bath, and outdoor shower. We built an insane big kitchen, we love to try new things and if you like to cook you will have enough space to teach us new recipes. We can only host people older than 21. Please don't message us if you're not at least 21.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lake Barton (the pictures from my backyard) has great bass fishing. We have many fishing poles, we have paddle boards, volleyball court and many other things we are adding by the day. The house is located 1 block from one of the major roads in Orlando which is on a bus route and 5 minutes to the center of our downtown. All major stores are in extremely close proximity and you can watch the private jets land while sipping some wine from the back patio or dock. The runway is at the end of my lake.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We do have private rooms for Workawayers where you have enough space where you don't get disturbed. There is not only wifi in the house. You have access to the high-speed wifi on the whole property.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5 hrs 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (4.4)

Communication: (4.8)
















Host ref number: 766952228924