Help create a more sustainable homestead and explore my adopted hometown of Boulder, Colorado, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings,
    My name is Joel and I am a 99% Colorado native, music aficionado, Spanish (and kinda German) speaker, and active/adventurous bon-vivant. The only label I've found that actually might fit me is 'multipotentialite' as I have had a long and varied career involving the Medical Field, Tech Startups, Ships, Antarctic Research, Renewable Energy, Homebuiliding, and probably another half-dozen things. I love to travel - with all 7 continents on my passport - and meet and get to know folks from different cultures all over the world. The whole pandemic has actually shifted my focus lately more toward finishing up projects at home and realizing a creative vision for a green, sustainable house in my adopted hometown of Boulder.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Involvement can be just lending a hand on various tasks or it could go much deeper with learning more about any of these trades/skills listed above (or perhaps even teaching me depending on YOUR experience!). Additionally, Boulder is a cultural, educational, spiritual, and adventure mecca. I'm always game to try and improve my Spanish skills and/or try to pick up a new language (including music, as it were).

  • Help

    Help

    The work projects are really varied (depending on your abilities/aspirations as well as the seasonal logistics), though all fit within the framework of making things more sustainable, eco-friendly, and self-sufficient. The work schedule can be quite flexible as well, though on the order of 15-20 hours in a given week and will include:

    Installing PV Solar Panels
    Building a Greenhouse
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Building a Climbing Wall
    Hydro/Aquaponics
    Landscaping/Xeriscaping
    A Chicken Coop(??)
    Many other building trades (electrical, plumbing, framing, welding)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm not formally learning/teaching any languages now, though always game to give it a try and expand my knowledge.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The living situation will be in a new above-garage carriage house that’s being built out, so it’s separate from, but connected to the main house. It’s a work in progress, though it has the most spectacular mountain views in the house and even it’s own sunny balcony w/spiral stairs! The basic creature comforts are there - private, partitioned, isolated area with window, bed, dresser, mirror…and part of the work can go toward finishing it out more, if desired. It can be totally self-contained with a mini-fridge, microwave, water kettle (and toilet/sink coming soon), yet right off the bat it may be more realistic to just utilize the main house facilities. I would be living up there myself, except my doggo is slowing down a bit with age and doesn’t dig the stairs so much. In the main house there is myself an awesome dog + kitty, and a couple housemates with interesting careers and interests (GIS, Particle Physics, Martial Arts, Sushi Chef, Guitar/Uke/Bass).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Some of the many fun and interesting things to check out in the immediate vicinity include:
    Mountain/Road Biking
    Climbing/Hiking
    Skiing/Snowboarding (yes!…prob. into June/July still)
    Kayaking/Tubing/Swimming on the Creek
    Culinary School
    Cafes/Brewpubs/Trivia
    The Startup Business Scene
    Education and Science (NREL, NIST, NOAA, U of Colorado)
    Music/Arts Scene

    ...and chances are that I (or my friends and local co-ops, etc.) have some gear and recommendations to share on all this or other pursuits

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Decent bandwidth internet at the house and I myself pop off to some of the cafes, etc. for some work (actually, it's where I am right now!)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Street parking is def available and can happen for a shorter stay (sans direct hookups, and per local ordinances etc. would still prob have to be sleeping in the house). For something longer, I actually have a space in my oversized garage (yes, it can fit) with hookups that could be a win-win for a more comfortable space that you're used to. That might be a slightly upgraded scenario than the one posted, but probably workable, so let's talk!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have a dog and a cat already (both friendly) so any additional pets will have to be compatible and well mannered/behaved.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours/day...or 15-20 hours/week w/flexibility on exact schedule (and more hours for pay possible)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 124192433635