Visit us in the Tuscan hills and help with English practice and house projects



Favourited 721 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a family of three, I am Serena and live in a stone farmhouse on the Tuscan hills .The sea is 7 kilometres away . Around our house olive groves and vineyards ,silence and History; We are just outside an ancient Middle Age small village , and only 5 kilometres from the main town with good bus/train services..We moved to this house in 2009 and since then we've been trying to create a garden , so any experienced gardener or a good pair of strong arms is very welcome!!! Our family is friendly and welcoming, we like to consider our guests as part of the family. We are looking first for a NATIVE ENGLISH speaking, if not, fluent english is anyway required for communication, I would love to improve French As well with native speaking or certificated teacher.Candidate has to be enthusiastic, trustworthy and reliable. We like the outdoors and need help for little works in the house and in the garden. In off peack season we can accomodate a couple, solo traveller rest of the time
    At the Moment we need to sand down and paint shutters ( carpenter o decorator needed) prune and bring pruning to fire, genernal House cleaning and wall painting
    We like travelling , wish to meet new friend and are respectful and laid back family.
    We need help in light building , house maintenance and renovation works, gardening and pruning , help in house cleaning, garden and house chores , help with beb guests.
    Internet is limited here, please no families with kids or pets.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need to paint the shutters and garden furniture, fix old stone walls , little plumbing , general gardening , lawn mowing, shrub pruning, landscaping , english language practice , cooking , general maintenance of the house according to personal talent and experience. When applying please specify your attitudes and skills. I'd love to start renovating an old small shed, it is not priority but any building skills is welcomed. If you are an English teacher , it will be lovely to have grammar lessons.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    independent studio in the house, shower room and toilet room is shared .We offer a pre arranged pick-up and drop back by car to Cecina train station.
    Ee have a space for a tent in summer

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Florence is two hours away by train , Rome two and half. You can easily get to many others Art cities like Siena, Lucca, Volterra ... This is a Tuscan countryside setting, If you like cycling and walking the house is along touristic trails on a white road. These lands are famous for Super Tuscan Wines production, Bolgheri a few kms away, will give you the chance to discover famous wine cellars. Or if you like reading or relaxing , take a seat under the shade in the garden watching the hawks circling above your head or choose a good book in our little library. we have cat, not particularly friendly, but can be around sometimes, so please make sure you re not allergic to it!! If you are found of discoes ,inclined to watching your I phone all day long with ear plugs in , probably this is not the ideal place. Sorry NO TOLLERANCE about drugs , or alcohol.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day for 5 days a week we are flexible on this according to weather conditions and personal plans

Host ref number: 765535565644