We are a Italian-German family looking for help with the garden, animals and farm in Tuscany, Italy!

Country

Italy

Favourited 158 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/05/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Italian-German family living since 18 years in our old farmhouse in the mountains of Alto Mugello, North of Tuscany. Since some years we are trying to become off grid and started to produce our own food and energy, still developing but already great success! His passion are mechanics, engines, the more old the better and any kind of alternative solutions. Her passion are horses, trekking, nature.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you could see how we have solved problems to reach the point to be very close to total off grid and self supply for basic but good quality life. How to build simple but efficient solar sanity heatings, how to build stoves from scrap, how to make natural gas from organic waste, how to run diesel engines with recycled fried oils, how to build a donkey sulky, how to build a ram pump, how to build a cool temperature room, how to build a water fridge, how to build a little wind mill, how to save a lot of hey and make animals happy, how to make efficient traps in case of need, how to build a knife, how to cut bottles to make glasses, how to build a HHO wet or dry cell, ..... and a lot more;
    all the renovating in our farm has been made by us, all the solutions are made by us, the solar systems (we have 3 different ones), all water piping (coming from the wood at a distance of 1.2 km) have been optimized and all the water system works off grid; the heating systems, stone works, wood works, modular horse stables buildings (you can enlarge them, you can make box bigger or smaller) made of 5cm wood.
    a nice talk is always interesting: if I talk to you about my idea and you to me about your idea happens something nice, before each one of us had 1 idea and after we go to sleep with 3 ideas, mine, yours and the evolution of mine plus yours.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a family (52-50 couple and 2 kids, 11-16), living on an old farm, trying to be as far as possible ecological and independent. We also rent 2 holiday houses to tourists. We have horses, goats, goose, chicken, dogs and cats. We need help for example in doing the firewood, working the garden, doing any kind of renovation around the farm, stable works and animal care...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    italian, german, english, spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you may stay in one of our small apartments, fully equipped, bathroom, kitchen bedroom and rest place inside (in case of bad weather) or out in the garden.
    usually we organize the lunch together, guest provides breakfast and dinner by himself; usually so to have some independence privacy moments.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we are located on the Tuscan Appennino between Florence and Bologna, our area is fantastic for walks, nice time at the local rivers, sight seeing, walks in woods where is quite possible to see wild animals;
    with the car in 1 hour you can be in Florence or Bologna.
    by bus (900mt down the road) it's more or less the same time.
    the Mugello circuit is at 30 min in the next valley.
    nice roads for street bikes, as well as for Enduro, and obviously good the same for mountain bike (there is a downhill track for the nationals), or street push bike.
    in the summer there is a public swimming pool open down in town (6 km).
    we can organize guided horse trips with our horses.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours- Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 765525864595