Help us with our four kids speaking in German with them in Armenia , Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2020

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    David and I (Johanna) are a marriage with four children. Emma (11), Otto (9), Anna (7) and Lotta (3). David and I where born here in Colombia and live in Armenia - Quindio, but have German, Colombian and American ancestors. Our kids are being raised as bilingual as possible, but here in Armenia no German school exists and it becomes hard to keep on speaking in German as they grow. That is a concern to us and we would like to find ways to keep them practicing.
    David is farmer and grows coffee and plantain. I am dedicated to home and kids.
    Rosa comes every day with patience and defication to help at home with cleaning, cooking and kids.
    We love to travel, make trips to sorroundings here, go out and search contact with nature, ride by mountain bike and have a good cup of coffee.
    A big issue to me is to try to keep kids as much as possible away from TV, internet, etc. Which is not easy...
    Our home is almost always full of kids as we live in a very nice condo where other little neighbors use to come and visit us. It can become kind of loud and chaotic here.
    We also have two cats.
    As Armenia and sorroundings is a very beautiful and has become quiet touristic, we often receive visit and enjoy showing people around.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They would benefit by sharing time with us as a German-Colombian family and having enough time to visit a language course and to get to know this part of Colombia. We would take time to show the volunteer around, to share time and let him or her have time to explore by him- herself.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to have a person who helps us with our four kids at home, but the most important is speaking with them all the time in German.
    We want the person to be active, to enjoy going out, showing books to the kids, making some arts, etc. With four kids of course it is very important that the volunteer enjoys kids, is patient and responsible.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteer would have a room for himself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Salento, Filandia, Cocora, coffee tours, horseback riding, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 765292492215