Help on my small organic farm in Völkermarkt, Austria

  • Favourited 92 times
  • Last activity: 11 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    I am a 40y old Musician and biologist, part-time teaching at high school and university in Vienna, half of the week and during the holidays I am living and developing this pittoresque small organic farm, frequently opening it up for guests, ecopedagogic Workshops and sometimes cultural events as well. There are various projects and things to do - helping with the animals (7 sheep at the moment, more to come in summer ;)), wine and garden / vegetable cultivation, watering, infrastructure work, woodcraft project, mowing and harvesting hay, lumberjack stuff... there is always work around and the Beauty of the place to enjoy at the same time. We are at the moment 3 people, with Heli (Finland) & Clemens (Germany) who are also living here with there husky blend dog Aino, working outside but also helping on the farm. It is a hilly pretty Area in southern Austria at the margin of the Slowenian speaking minority, close to lakes and mountains. It's steep with a great view from the hilltop, and right behind lies the beautiful mixed forest. The highway is only some hundred metres away, while you don't see it from the farm you clearly hear it (outside) - but this hasn't inhibited anybody so far from enjoying and loving the beautiful place, an amazing biodiversity being one of its treasures. We have our own, wood, water and solar energy supply (self-built and started in 2023). So, if this speaks to you, we are waiting to welcome you and share a unique time here - especially in summer, when Heli, David and Clemens (partly) won't be here to help running our precious little farmlife...!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We sometimes host Jam Sessions, there are frequently people coming to visit, neighbours, musicians, artists, friends... I speak english, french, Italian, a little spanish and dutch, Traces of Arab...
    you can visit the area, borrow a bike or maybe more

  • Help


    Animal Care (Sheep)
    Gardenwork/ watering
    Forest works
    Sometimes help with events
    Various projects!
    Some hours a day... according to the actual project and your interest and abilities!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Arabic: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner
    Dutch: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Rooms with bed
    Or small house with matrace on the floor.
    We share Kitchen and bathroom and can optionally cook together

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can reach the farm with Public transport (bus or local train ca. 30-40min from Klagenfurt: Pörtschach am Töllerberg or Tainach-Stein), it is also possible to hitchhike or blablacar / covoiturage, as the Highway exit "Völkermarkt West" is just 10min walk from the farm, you can indicate "Bauernimbiss Völkermarkt" to get off

    There can beautiful walks be done from the farm
    There is a beautiful river area where you can swim or go paddling, fishing...
    There is mountains for hiking or climbing, skiing (winter) etc. not far

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Quite fast WLAN unlimited data in the house, fast and stable enough for Video Conferencing

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is not much flat area on the hilly farm but enough to sleep in a camping van :) have a VW Bus T3 myself which is repaired and welded from time to time

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximal 4-5 Stunden am Tag, 5 Tage die Woche

Host ref number: 765246379271

Feedback (4)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with children, cooking and house projects close to Graz, Austria
Help at our permaculture garden in the green area of Vienna, Austria