Building our home with straw bales in Chelle-Spou, France

Country

France

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Auriane and Joan. We live in the south of France, close to the Pyrénées. Auriane is a doctor in addictology and Joan is a mechanical engineer. We are starting to build our house using as much as possible locally and natural materials (wood for the structure, straw bale for insulation...)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a small village (120 inhabitants), villagers are mainly farmers with cows. The neighborhood is very friendly. There are other constructions with straw bale in the village, if you are interested, you can visit them.

    We are very close to the Pyrénées. If you like to hike or climb, there is plenty spots.
    If you are a musician, you can use our guitar or our electric piano.

  • Help

    Help

    In June we are going to work on the basement of the house. Workawayers can help in putting in place the sheaths, the reinforcement mesh, the heated floor and the concrete.

    During the summer (July and August) we are going to work on the traditional wood frame. Workawayers can help to draw lines on the wood, cut wood assembly (tenons, mortices), assembly the wood structure and paint the wood.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We rent a house at 400 meters of the house we are building. We can host you in the house we rent, we have an additional bedroom for the workawayers. If you have a van or if you like to set up the tent, there are plenty of places in the fields. We will take the breakfast, lunch and dinner together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have internet connection with no data limit. We don't have optical fiber, but the connection is pretty good.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 762783476279