Looking for help with a personal project about video and using a computer in Calais, France

Country

France

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Jean-Marie, I used to work as an editor specializing into Astronomy and Space images.

    I have travelled much around the world for many years. Now I am retired, but I still continue to travel from time to time.

    I live in an appartment in Calais (in the Pas-de-Calais, northern France), 9 rooms, 90 sqm of living space in a very nice quiet and wooded residential area.

    Well located on the Place des Fusillés, very little traffic. With private parking attached.

    The appartment is ideally located 2 minutes walk from the city center, near all shops, 1 km from the beach and 5 minutes from the train station. Near the Place d'Armes where most restaurants, and cafes are situated.

    The place faces the historical Citadel (17th century fortification), is near the swimming pool, the Parc St Pierre, the Parc Richelieu, the Watchtower, the Lace Museum, the War Museum, the Museum of Fine Arts of Calais. The Cité Europe and the Channel Tunnel (Eurotunnel) are 15mn drive.

    The appartment is located near many tourist sites (Cap Blanc-Nez, Cap Gris-Nez, La Coupole, Nausicaa, Mimoyecque, The Chapel of Guémy (historical site of the Middle Ages), Eperlecques, Museum of the War of Audinghem, the famous Licques poultry farm, the marshes of Audomarois, Camp du Drap d'Or, etc...), near Boulogne sur Mer, Dunkerque, Saint Omer and England. Belgium is 45 km away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I propose you to discover the region.
    I live in Calais in the middle of a beautiful region steeped in history. I had a small publishing house specializing in Astronomy and Spatial Images. I continue to take care of it for pleasure. I need at this moment a help in computer science. I speak English fluently and quite well Spanish.
    I also propose you to discover my passion for Astronomy and the history of the conquest of Space.

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    Je vous propose de vous faire découvrir la région.
    Je vis à Calais au milieu d'une belle région chargée d'histoire. J'avais une petite maison d'édition spécialisée dans le domaine des images Astronomiques et Spatiales. Je continue à m'en occuper pour le plaisir. J'ai besoin en ce moment d'une aide ponctuelle en informatique. Je parle Anglais couramment et assez bien l'Espagnol.
    Je vous propose aussi de vous faire découvrir ma passion pour l'Astronomie et l'histoire de la conquête de l'Espace.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone who can help me with video work.

    Here is my need:

    I have quite a few DVDs about Astronomy and the History of Space Conquest.

    I want to Copy these DVDs on my computer on my Hard Drive with some programs and maybe change the format. I also want to do some work on each DVD, crop some images, put my own opening credits at the beginning and the end of the films.

    Do not hesitate to ask me for additional information if needed.

    Thank you for your reply.
    Regards,
    Jean Marie

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    je cherche quelqu'un qui peut me rendre un service en informatique.

    Voici mon besoin :

    Je possède beaucoup de films sur DVD sur les sujets de l'Astronomie et de l'Histoire de la conquête de l'Espace.

    Je souhaite copier ces DVD sur mon Disque Dur, et éventuellement changer le format du fichier. Je veux aussi supprimer des séquences sur les films, ajouter mon propre générique de début et de fin sur chaque film.

    N'hésitez pas à me demander des renseignements supplémentaires si besoin.

    Merci de votre réponse.
    Cordialement,
    Jean-marie

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I offer accommodation in a comfortable room with a double bed. I live on the ground floor of a building in a beautiful and very quiet area in the center of Calais. We take meals at home, I cook sometimes alone, sometimes with my wife.

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    Je propose un hébergement dans une chambre confortable avec un lit à 2 places. Je vis au Rez de Chaussée d'un immeuble dans un beau quartier très calme dans le centre de Calais. Nous prenons les repas chez moi, je fais la cuisine parfois seul, parfois avec ma femme.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have a pretty calm life style. I prefer to receive quiet and discreet people. I propose to help me on my current project. I work at home, so there is no need to travel daily for this. For an experienced computer scientist, the work should be fairly easy and be done quickly enough.

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    J'ai un style de vie assez calme. Je préfère recevoir des gens calmes et discrets. Je vous propose de m'aider sur mon projet actuel. Je travaille chez moi, il n'y a donc pas besoin de se déplacer quotidiennement pour cela. Pour un informaticien expérimenté, le travail devrait être assez facile et se faire assez rapidement.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 762944731322