1 / 5

Help in our community garden in the Cowichan Valley, near Vancouver, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 22 times
  • Last activity: 27/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a community of wonderful people living, playing, working, dancing and growing food together. We have 12 people living on our 5 acre property two families and with two kids each and 5 adults. We connected with another 6 acre property with roughly the same amount of people. We are artists, woodworkers, healers, dreamers, forest dwellers, musicians, clowns, professionals and more. Between our two properties we share a community garden about an acre in size. we also share an outdoor community kitchen and yurt. We love to get together for potlucks, jams, dance parties, and ceremonies.

    Our property is nestled in the amazing temperate rainforest in the Cowichan Valley. Surrounded by trees on one side and the river on the other side. We are a 3 min. walk to an incredible slow moving warm river great for swimming and tubing(yes we have the gear for that). Right our door is the Cowichan River Provincial park which has lots of amazing hiking and biking trails for your enjoyment. In and around our neighbour you may see, black bears, herons, river otters, owls, elk and many more of our furry friends. The nature here truly is majestic. Our property has a few ponds and an artesian spring to drink from. I know we are quite spoiled, that's why we want to share it with others.

    Our property is close to two towns. and an hour away from Victoria. We are also about an hour away from the West coast of Vancouver Island and the amazing old growth trees so many are fighting to save.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are community of very special humans that have decided to live together and share our unique qualities and gifts with each other. We often get to get to dance, celebrate, dress up, hold ceremonies and have a good laugh. We invite our workaways to join in all the merriment. We are almost always working on a new project whether it's erecting a yurt or building a green house, this is one of the places where you can learn from all sorts of awesome folks. The nature itself is one of the best reasons to join us here. it is truly beautiful.

  • Help

    Help

    We always need help in all stages of our garden. This includes seeding, prepping beds, transplanting, harvesting, weeding etc. We usually meet one day a week as a community but love a good workaway that's in there more often. In general we are looking for help around the land, maintaining paths, removing invasive plants, Weed wacking, lawn mowing and fixing things that may get broken. We always need help in all stages of our garden. This includes seeding, prepping beds, transplanting, harvesting, weeding etc. Having four kids we always want to attract people who love being around kids and want engage with them whenever they get a chance. Occasionally we may need help with watching our kids(don't worry our kids are really fun) or with some help around the house, doing odd jobs. We are open to someone that might want to help create meal plans or cook large meals for the two families. Generally most of the help is needed in the garden and around the land.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Many community members are beginner spanish speakers and love to practice. We are also happy in guiding others with their beginner and intermediate english.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sleeping:
    We have a truck camper that has a queen bed in it and a little kitchen and table. It's cozy and comfortable. The camper faces into the giant trees behind our land. We also have a "Weirdo". You ask whats a "Weirdo" the weirdo is a custom built triangular camper that was dubbed the "Weirdo". I has a double bed and single bed that folds down into a table. It has a tiny kitchen. The "Weirdo" is nestled into the trees facing our giant forest behind us. We also have heaps of room to park your own rig or a tent or two.

    Kitchen:
    Although each dwelling has a little kitchen most workaways use our beautiful outdoor kitchen. It has lots of space and feels great. We often have our potlucks and jams here. The kitchen is shared space on the border of our two properties.

    Showers:
    We are currently building outdoor showers, so for the meantime Workaways shower in either of the main houses on the property.

    Toilets:
    We have a compost toilet that is kept clean and emptied regularly.

    Laundry:
    Laundry is done in the houses or at a laundromat

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is walking distance to amazing, swimming, tubing, walking/hiking, and biking. not too far away are stunning old growth trees and the rugged west coast of Vancouver island. Victoria is a great city to enjoy about an hour by car away. There are lots of great ocean spots to fish, kayak and canoe about 40 mins away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Each dwelling has decent internet access.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have spots to park and hook up a campervan or RV

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We are open to pets, but all pets must be great with children and cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We ask 2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 761526313973

Photos

Feedback

Be part of our family and help with little projects in the house and cooking/cleaning on Bowen Island, British Columbia, Canada
Learn about insect farming on our organic farm in Ontario, Canada