Join our family and help with daily life and some DIY home projects in beautiful Boulder Colorado, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family of 3 are living in Boulder Colorado at the foothills of the mountains. Mom, dad and 16 yr old boy. We are a mixed family in many ways: Indian Medical Doc, German Engineer, and a wonderful son who open and engaging and loves soccer.
    We also have 2 cats.
    Whoever wants to live with us, can most likely use one of our cars. The room is within our general living area and shares a bathroom with our son.
    In many ways, we are not a typical american family... but in other ways we are. We are very open and loving.
    Whoever will be staying with us can participate in our family life as much as they wish.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The travelers can join in our family meals and time together if they choose. But Boulder being so close to the mountains and being a university city will allow plenty of opportunity to meet locals in various locations and activities.

    During the time off, you can do what you like. Most of everything can be reached by public transportation. We have bikes and are able to loan a car to a good driver. Denver is the big city close to Boulder (40 km) and has plenty of big city things to do. Boulder, with it's 30,000 student population is a bit more rural and very outdoor oriented. Every activity possible can be explored.

  • Help

    Help

    The outside of our home needs a good cleanup, some basic painting of 2 sheds etc. 4 to 5 hrs a workday day for 2 weeks should do the trick. This is not technical but requires some organizational skills. Some of the parts that need to be moved/stored may weigh 20 kg.
    We also love artwork/murals. If somebody would love to provide artwork for us, that would be great.
    Lastly, we love home cooked meals. Somebody who would like to prepare meals from your home country would be awesome. We'd be happy to pay for the ingredients....

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would love to improve our languages

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The room is part of the main living space with a queen sized bed. No separate entrance. Until 8/1it was used by our daughter. The bathroom needs to be shared with our son.

    Our guests will share in our meals. Mornings and mid-day meals: Each of us will usually make our own food. In the evenings we are trying to have a family meal together. Mostly home-cooked. Our guest can participate as much as he/she would like.
    We are mostly eating organic food and the family is dairy and most are gluten free.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Boulder is a university city (CU) of about 150,000 people right next to the mountains. We are lucky to be at one of the sunniest places in the US which also means that everything around here is pretty dry most of the year. The city of Boulder is located at 1600 m altitude and is very much known for its many outdoor activities: Climbing, hiking, biking, skiing, football (soccer), Frisbee, etc.... you name the sport, you can play it. Many world class athletes live here.
    Not far away is the city of Denver. The Denver/ Boulder metro area is one the loveliest areas in the western part of the US. Almost everything can be reached by public transportation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have plenty of space in the house and very fast internet. The room has a work table that can be used as an office.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of free parking around the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 758815519222