Help with house, garden and dogs in Tuscany, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Are you good with your hands - do you love making, repairing, restoring things? I have a house that could keep you busy all winter, especially if you have some experience in carpentry and painting - even sewing - in fact, any of the skills and crafts that are useful for home-making and maintenance. If the weather is good there is a terraced garden to keep an eye on. The countryside is beautiful and unspoilt.

    My name is Jenny. I am an English grandmother and sculptor and live alone in a big house in a tiny hamlet in the mountains between Florence, Siena and Arezzo. For the last 30 years I have been busy converting a group of derelict farm buildings into a place to live, making sculpture and looking after my mother. My son, daughter and three grandchildren are all in England. My daughter hopes to join me but until then I live alone.

    I am independent and content by nature but cannot cope with all that needs doing and l Iove the friendship and camaraderie that comes with a good host/helper match. If you are a volunteer who doesn't smoke, can live without alcohol, can speak English and enjoys good conversation, we could get on well.
    The workload is a basic 4 hrs. a day in the mornings, 5 days a week unless more is needed. The accommodation opens onto the garden and consists of a bedroom, shower room, sitting room and use of kitchen. I can provide some simple food but I am not a cook.

    Caprese Michelangelo was remote but it is now only 25 minutes from the E45  running from Rimini to Rome.
    Michelangelo the sculptor was born here and the Sanctuary of St. Francis is in nearby La Verna.

    If you feel this could be good for both of us, enjoy mountain scenery and absolute peace and quiet, please get in touch.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is back to the past. Here you find unchanged, timeless countryside and communities, with deeply rooted family ties, that are used to caring for each other. You will find this friendly, helpful attitude still exists and you as an interesting newcomer will be made to feel welcome.
    It is a challenging area that produced many of the great names of the Renaissance, and before that a magnet for the spiritually minded resulting in the many monasteries and chapels and settlements of the 1300s.
    As for your host, she is happy to help with English conversation and is interested in the Arts and in meeting and working with people with a similar creative outlook.
    The variety of flora and fauna (insects!) in this area is amazing and there is a vast network of ancient trails to walk.

  • Help

    Help

    care of dogs, card-playing? , computer help including WordPress, gardening, indoor cleaning, maintenance, tree pruning, painting, pointing stonework, sanding and staining woodwork, restoration of old furniture, tidying outbuildings, window cleaning.....shared cooking.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Converted stables at garden level consisting of bedroom with family bed (matrimoniale), bathroom, sitting room and kitchen. The owner has access to the kitchen where the dogs sleep, and to the sitting room.
    Eating arrangements to be by mutual agreement, based around at least one meal together. Normally food is provided for just one helper. It is, to a large degree, vegetarian.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    While having one's own space is essential it is fun to share experiences and do something interesting together.
    This is a historic area. In summer there are plenty of colourful events in the vicinity. If you want to go to any of these, prepare your trip well online. If you don't, using public transport can be a bit of an adventure.

    For exploring nearby there is a mountain bike available. You may possibly have the use of the back-up car for local use if you bring your driving license.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Average size van acceptable, but nothing larger.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)





Host ref number: 757653917687