Help Keep Our Home Tidy in Picturesque Northern Utah, USA!

Country

United States

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! Thanks for viewing our profile! We are a fun, friendly, homeschooling family of 5 living in picturesque northern Utah. We enjoy learning about other cultures and our 13-year-old daughter would love to learn to speak Korean! We love good food and good music and can usually be found eating a delicious, home-cooked, Paleo-friendly meal around our floor table while listening to beautiful music. We also enjoy making music! Our 13-year-old daughter plays the piano, violin, recorder, ukulele and guitar. Our 10-year-old daughter plays the piano, cello and recorder, and our 7-year-old son is currently learning to play the piano. Dad plays the guitar and mom loves to sing.
    We love Mother Earth and spending time in nature and are blessed to live in the mountains near a gorgeous hiking trail.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come share your personal talents, culture and language with our family while practicing your English and experiencing life in the U.S.

    You will learn how to care for children, prepare delicious and nourishing meals, and other valuable life skills.

    Northern Utah is a beautiful, peaceful place with many opportunities for outdoor fitness. There are many hiking and biking trails, and a nice ski lodge nearby - as well as many National Parks throughout the state. We enjoy being active and trying new things so let us know if you have a particular interest you'd like to pursue. We live in a quiet town but are not far from a larger city with a university. And we enjoy cozy, snowy winters from November to March. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you into our hearts and home. Thank you!

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help keeping our new house tidy! This will include general cleaning, such as: washing dishes, tidying the kitchen, cleaning the bathrooms, doing laundry, dusting, vacuuming or whatever is needed on a particular day. If you have a driver's license we would love help with driving children to music lessons, but it's not necessary! Better yet, we would love it if you could tutor our children in music! We would also like help with language practice and instruction, especially if you speak Korean, but again, not necessary! And we would particularly enjoy a female mentor for our daughters to look up to. We enjoy incorporating Waldorf Education philosophies in our homeschool studies as well as Nonviolent Communication, although we still have much to learn! And we would welcome help in this area if you have experience in these methods. <3

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We recently built our home and moved in March of 2018. It is small and simple and filled with love. We aimed to build a non-toxic, eco-friendly, passive-solar, sustainable home and are currently working on creating a water catchment system as well as a permaculture landscape on our property.

    We enjoy learning about health and fitness and eating nourishing Paleo-friendly meals. We have an infrared sauna and a small "yoga studio" in our attic that you are welcome to use.

    You will sleep alone in a small bedroom with a desk and dresser and firm floor mattress filled with buckwheat hulls. :) There are two shared bathrooms in the home.

    We enjoy family mealtime and look forward to having you join us at the table. We will provide breakfast, lunch and dinner and hope you'll share your cultural cuisine with us as well.

    We'd love for you to be part of our family. We are open and flexible and expect you to communicate your needs with us. We also expect you to be cheerful, dedicated, responsible and sociable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a health-conscious family, so any form of smoking is prohibited. You will be given plenty of downtime during the day to relax, read and respond to email but sleep is very important to us so you will be expected to go to bed early (by 9:30 p.m.) and rise early in the morning (by 6:30 a.m.). Thanks for your understanding!
    In case you're unfamiliar with a Paleo-friendly diet, it includes: wild-caught fish; grass-fed, pasture-raised meats and poultry; vegetables; fruits; fermented foods; nuts and seeds; and healthy oils and fats. Our oldest daughter is highly-sensitive to eggs and dairy (as well as grain, soy and more) so our breakfasts and lunches are generally plant-based (using flax-eggs and coconut-hemp milk) but our dinners include animal meats and bone stocks to help heal her gastrointestinal tract.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

We love spending time together as a family. Our Bernese Mountain Dog is named Greta. She is very friendly and cuddly!
Surrounded by beautiful mountains in Cache Valley, Utah, USA.
We enjoy snowy winters from November to April.
Our new house!
This is where you'll sleep. The view from the window is fantastic!
This is where we do our homeschool and music studies.
We love to make delicious messes in this kitchen! ❤️
Celebrating a birthday around our floor table.
Three of the best children in the world!
Millie + Mom
Dad + Ivy Josephine
Millie is intelligent, talented and hard-working. She loves everything kpop and would love to learn more of the Korean language!



Host ref number: 757523178759