Help to develop my eco construction projects near Monteverde, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Johnny, I am a tour guide and I am developing a small land with coffee, bananas, corn and other crops. My aim is to construct ecological houses using alternative materials such as clay and glass bottles. I would like to meet volunteers with knowledge about eco-construction and thermo-culture, but any kind of help is welcome as this is the very beginning of the project. For now I personally take care of all the tasks that are present in my project. Besides me you will also meet my Mum Yolanda who works as a massage therapist.
    Here are some examples of activities we currently need help with: cleaning glass bottles, construction of a small warehouse for tools and chill out, planting, harvesting.

    We live in the countryside, about 20 km from Monteverde. The area is remote, quiet and surrounded by forests and hills with many opportunities for wonderful hikes.
    How to get here: simply take a bus to Monteverde/Santa Elena and I can pick you up on the bus station. If you go from San José, the bus leaves from terminal 7-10. You can book your tickets online in advance through transmonteverde.com or buy directly at the terminal.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn Spanish, learn about local birds, medicinal and edible plants. I'm happy to share my knowledge about wildlife. I love organic agriculture.

    I'm always open to learn from other people, hear ideas. In addition, there are no English classes in this community so we can organize classes for low-income children who'd like to come to our project to take English classes and practice with volunteers.

  • Help

    Help

    Help to develop my green construction projects on my property

    Ayuda a desarrollar mis proyectos de contruccion ecologica en mi propiedad

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Me encantan los idiomas

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One option is camping - the temperature is very pleasant even in the rain season.
    We are also improving a separate house for volunteers. It's simple but sufficient for all basic needs - drinking water, electricity, toilet, shower, bed, kitchen where you can cook. We do not provide food, but I do frequent trips by car to the city so I can give you a ride to do your shopping. The closest shop is less than 2km away, so it's accesible on foot as well. We can however provide the basics, such as oil, salt... You are also welcome to harvest anything growing on our land - bananas, herbs, limon dulce, for now it's not too much.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many opportunities to explore the surroundings, whether it is a touristy area or rather off the beaten path. You can for example visit the Monteverde biological reserve, the beach, lake, vulcano, learn about local birds, come to the night tour with me...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Yes, we do have fast speed internet

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can host campers, no problem

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, we love animals. We have two dogs, so your pet(s) should be friendly to other animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 755425167939