Childcare and video editing skills or cello teaching needed Santillana del mar, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 450 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    658

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Currently looking for someone or a couple from now until end of October for video editing and some help around the house and looking after our 9 year old.
    We're a young couple Annie (a harpist/busker from England) and Javi (a photographer/video maker from Spain) and a 9 year old boy Timo (from Ireland).
    We'd expect you to help about 5 hours a day and have two days off each week and we'll provide you with food and accommodation. Please only contact me if you´re available for these dates and can stay at least a month, preferably longer.
    Ideally we´d like someone who can look after Timo when I am working and could also help Javi with video edition with Premier. If you play cello please also contact us! Would definitely suit a couple of two friends.

    A bit about us....
    I enjoy music (I play the harp) and travelling. I make a living playing harp mostly from playing in the streets over the summer and a few hours teaching English over the winter. Javi is a professional photographer, he's also teaching photography and has a lab for developing photos in the basement, so it would be the ideal house for creative types. We also put on some garden concerts playing movie themes on the harp with a silent projection containing clips from the movies.
    We are very relaxed, easy-going and flexible, we won't over work you. We have had quite a lot of au pairs and workawayers so far and they have all been lovely and very happy here, I was also an Au Pair a few years ago so hopefully we can be the perfect host family!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you can improve you English or Spanish, we can teach you a little music or photography if you're interested. We invite you to join us when we go to the beach or to town and we'll be able to show you a little of the surrounding area which is very beautiful. We're very close to the beach and the mountains.
    We're very used to having people stay, often we have friends here and couch surfers passing by, we like to spend our summer evenings sitting outside, eating and chatting.

  • Help

    Help

    -Childcare for Timo, he´s 9 years old and very easy going. If you can teach him some words in German or Italian this is also a plus! He loves magic and would like someone to teach him some tricks. He´s also learning cello so if you play cello it would be huge bonus.

    -video editing skills to help Javi keep on top of his jobs

    Which ever tasks you´re helping us with we will also get you to do a fair portion of the cooking and cleaning around the house and other odd jobs (included in your 25 hours help a week).

    Also it's really important to us that we can get on with each other and enjoying living together, working together, sharing some free time together etc. We're open and warm people, we enjoy people staying. For us the most important is that you have a positive attitude and you're keen to help us out and see what needs to be done without needing to be told every little thing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a house in Mijares, it's 3 km from Santillana del mar, a beautiful touristy village in the north of Spain close to Santander. You'll have your own room which has a bunk bed and a shared bathroom. Our house includes numerous harps, a piano, a few cellos of different sizes (including a full-size), a guitar, a garden, a photography lab (dark room), a photography studio, a nice terrace with sofas where we spend most of our summer evenings. We're also 15 minutes walking distance from Puente san miguel where you have the train and a few shops and bars.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Santillana is beautiful, a lovely medieval village. We have famous prehistoric caves (altamira) in the village, the camino de santiago passes through here, we're very close to the sea. We're also 20 minutes by bus from Comillas, another beautiful town. We're about 30 minutes from Santander too. There is plenty to see in the surrounding areas, beaches, mountains.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 a week

our home
me busking in Santillana
Santillana del mar
Javi, Timo and Annie

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























Host ref number: 7553696914da