Assen, Netherlands. Help in and around my house: maintenance, painting and other stuff

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    - My house has room enough to offer you a nice place to stay and to work for a while. I think you will meet a nice person here and I hope to meet a nice person too. I like to hear about your country and culture, I can tell you about ours.
    - I am a 69 year old man, but still feeling young, doing severel things as a volunteer and for fun (as I don't have to work anymore). I like walking, biking, meeting friends, preparing meals, reading, learning languages, gardening, listening music, doing some yoga and so on. I like to do things in my own way, but I consider myself a social person. I don't smoke, eat vegetarian and organic if possible. I do speak Dutch, English, German, French and some Portuguese and Spanish.
    - Since my both sons left home I am living alone (almost, i do have a cat called Yang) in Assen, Drenthe, Netherlands (northern part). My house is situated nearby the woods and the fields around Assen, but also nearby the (center of) the city, where you can find a railwaystation, a museum, parks, a library and of course shops.
    - From Assen it is easy to go almost anywhere in the Netherlands by train. In the surroundings of Assen you can walk, bike, see dolmen and nice villages. If you like Dutch nature you can enjoy yourself here.

    I suggest to work for about 20 hours during a week. Four hours a day for example, except the weekend. (in consultation we can decide otherwise)

    I prefer to exchange services instead of money.

    What I ask from you:
    - 15 -20 hours of help a week
    - accepting and respecting houserules
    - cleaning your own room,
    - no smoking, no drugs
    - buying your own (special) drinks
    - respecting my sons and friends when here
    - some privacy in living together in the same house

    What I offer you:
    - a bedroom and a good bed
    - some privacy in living together in the same house
    - daily healthy vegetarian meals when in the house
    - free use of towels
    - free coffee and tea
    - free wifi
    - the use of a bike
    - some trips in the neighbourhood, some sightseeing together

    i prepare a warm vegetarian meal (almost) every day. So, for me it is no problem to be your cook. But, if you like, we can prepare meals together or alternately.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - You can stay here for free, having a bedroom including good meals. If you like doing things together I can show you the surroundings of Assen, or even more. I have a car. I can lend you a bike.
    - What you can find here; natureparks, dolmen ( called hunebedden in Dutch), burial mounds, museums, old villages. When you are interested in (Dutch) archeology and the history of this area there are many locations to visit and to see.
    - In the city of Assen you will find all kinds of shops, a theater and a cinema, a museum, parks, a recreationcenter, sportschools and so on.
    - The city of Groningen is nearby (by train, bus and even by bike if you want to) and offers almost everything you expect from a 'big town'.

  • Help

    Help

    - a lot of painting in and around the house
    - gardening: maintenance and redecorating
    - around the house: refurbish the garden path and the parking place
    - tiding up the house and the garage
    - teaching languages

    I am busy doing several things that are necessary for the maintenance of my house and household. I can use some help with all these things, depending on your skills and expertise.

    If you speak a language I like to learn (better) you can teach me. i would like to. (Spanish, French, Portuguese)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch , English, German, French, some Spanish, some Portugues

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Normal familyhouse with four bedrooms and a garden in a nice and rather quiet neighbourhood in the city of Assen .
    For you there will be a separate room to sleep, and to be on yourself for some privacy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - The northern part of the Netherlands is an interesting area to explore (depending on what you like or prefer of course). Drenthe is known as a pittoresque and rather quiet part of the Netherlands because of its nature, history and archeology.
    - Drenthe is best explored walking or biking. And it is very easy to find your way because there is quite a smart system along the roads to make different tours. There are no hills here to climb.
    - You can visit several villages, cities, natureparks and dolmen. And you can even visit the northern islands. On a distance of about 70-100 km you 'll find the 'waddeneilanden', nice islands to go to by boat for a daytrip or longer. In Friesland (distance from 50-100 km) you will find many lakes and quite a few historical cities.
    - You can even visit the borderarea of Germany. The historical city of Groningen is nearby Assen (25 km, by bus or by train).
    - If you like to see 'Holland' (the old Dutch cities for example), you can get there by train within two or three hours. To be honest: travelling by train is not that cheap, but i can help you to find some special offers for interesting daytrips for lower costs.

    If you would like to have more information, please let me know.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    about 4 hours a day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 754142487619