Help needed now. Come and join me in my lovely corner of france and help with my garden

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 332 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    41  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a 300 year old farm house that my husband started renovating before he died. I now live with my new partner Paul. My children both in their 20's and my grand children who are 7 and 2 visit often. Pau and Bayonne, less than 1 hour away. I have been here 15 years and love it. There is a restaurant, a library, two salles de fetes, a primary school, two apple orchards, a river and lake, a knights templar chapel, a garage, a bakery next-door and a holy spring (like Lourdes).

    The house is right in the centre of this 500 person community. As the village is quite rural and not serviced by public transport I usually collect from the train stations puyoo or orthez and happy for you to accompany me on my visits outside the village. I am also happy to take you to the station sometimes, and do a little sight seeing trip. I also have a little dog (minature pinscher). The garden needs a lot of attention at present. It is a source of joy for me with olive trees, palm trees, magnolias, camelias and roses this little southern corner of France is blessed with sunshine and rain so everything is lush and green rather than dry and dead.

    My interests include food, music, sewing, writing, films, I have a large collection of dvds that might please you, also people and their tales are a great joy for me but then who doesn't love to exchange ideas and experiences. I am looking for help with simple things like cleaning the patio, grass cutting, gardening, weeding and pruning. If you like gardens and like the out side then id love to hear from you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    language: I speak very clear standard english and this is a french speaking village. local history. beautiful countryside, country walks, cooking skills visits to places great memories. Paul is working hard to learn french and i can manage quite well.

  • Help

    Help

    Just to give you an idea: of the jobs that need doing and i would be gratful for any help with these: Lawn to cut, gardening, cleaning, deweeding the pattio, tying up roses, moving some stones from a fallen wall, pruning, some basic repairs and maybe a bit of painting. Help putting stuff in loft. The house is comfortable and the location remains wonderful. Suit historians as it is on the route pilgrim. Suit cyclists as it is on a plain, several rivers, beautiful walks, little lake local, fishing possible. On the edge of Landes, Basques country with mountains & Spain and the beach 1h away. This area is covered with shallow wide rivers (the ground very hard so the water spreads outwards), lush vegetation. migratory birds, birds of prey, deer, lizards, bats. The village is quiet but train close by goes to pau, dax, orthez and bayonne and up into the mountains. Also check out on google: sauverterre, sorde d'abay, peyrehorade and salies de bearn all less than 20 mins away.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, conversation french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can offer you a bedroom and shared bathroom. The house is a renovated bearnaise farmhouse. It is comfortable and large, situated inside the heart of the old village. It is a working village where many of my neighbours are farmers. We have a wood burner upstairs and a well equiped modern kitchen. The living shared space is 100 sq meters light and airy. Slow wifi but usual for this area, no fiber optics. Comfortable modern tiled bathroom with good supply of hot water although water and energy are very expensive here. If you can help establish order, are tidy, versatile, can come up with some helpful ideas, have strength, flexibility, stamina, don't get easily demoralised, like sharing, are a real problem solver and like to help then this might well suit you. if you like sharing and think you can help then I'd love to hear from you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have bikes, some are now fixed so you can get around and there are lovely walks. I always endevour to make my workawayers feel at home and a part of whatever is happening. Almost everyone has enjoyed and benefited from these exchanges and look back with happiness at our time together, including me.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day seems fine (max 25 hours/week)

making xmas goodies from around europe with workawayers
spainish outing with argentinian workawayer
pau taken by workawayer
peyrehorde market me buying bread taken by workawayer
family french friend, english friend, neighbour and workawayer eating traditional german meal
san sebastian day out with saxon workawayers and grand daughter
working in my garden
german workawayer and my grand daughter mid winter biarritz
fete de sel in salies de bearn 10 mins away taken by workawayer
sunflowers 5 mins up the road
our local lake, small but pretty






















Host ref number: 749722951239