Rural help required in Northland, New Zealand with horses and with outdoor work.

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 346 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please note that, we can only host a single person at a time as we have not enough space to host two persons at once. None smokers are prefered.

    We are a German couple and have 25 hectares of native bush and pine forest at Kaeo (28 km north of Kerikeri). Here we live with our two friendly dogs (New Zealand Huntaway and cattle dog x) and eight horses (Shire/Thoroughbred X, old Arab/Wesh X,, Frisian X with foal and 4 cute Shetland Ponies. There is always plenty of outdoor work waiting. We also do some building work at the moment and from time to time we need a helping hand with that.

    We eat normal food but we are also happy with vegetarians. No vegans please!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are open minded and we like controversal thinking and interesting talks and discussions.
    At our place you can learn how to bake bread and to train horses in a more natural way without bits and force. Torsten is a skilled builder and he is happy to share his knowledge with someone who is keen and interrested.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Old overgrown tracks need clearing from time to time, gardening, weeding, collecting fire wood, eradicating gorse and other pest plants, daily pick up of horse pooh (droppings) and various jobs at the property including some care of our beloved dogs and the horses which are kept and trained naturally. You can also learn how to bake bread.

    There are no special skills required and we don't ask for hard work but for some enthusiasm, good sense of humor, love for nature and animals. Maybe some riding skills would be great.

    At the moment we also have some building work to do and it would be great to host someone who is familiar with making concrete or with some other building skills.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Simple living shouldn’t be a problem for you. We can only offer a small caravan as accommodation and our house is rather basic. As we have to heat our water with fire wood, we can't provide a hot shower every day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you would like to ride, please keep in mind that our horses are not ridden commonly and that you should be open minded for another wonderful way of riding and communication with horses.

    As we live in the middle of the bush, there are plenty of spiders and other critters around, including lots of dust. You should not be afraid of them or have a dust allergy.

    Please note that we can only host a single person at a time. We prefer non smokers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 to 4 hours / 5 days a week















Host ref number: 746654774ab5