Help out with busy family/work life in Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 268 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a mother (33) of two little girls, 6.5 and 2.5 years old. We have a house in East Vancouver where we have the upstairs floor, sharing the house with the downstairs (the childrens' older brother (15) and father (travelling consultant/jeweler), we also share space with our friend who lives in his RV in the back yard, he is one of the citys' most prominent classical guitarists. We have a medium size dog, a cat, 2 rabbits and 5 guinea pigs.

    Our house is undergoing a renovation process but is nearly complete, the front yard garden is an ongoing project. We are very social people and often have friends over for dinner, exchange students from Europe and out of town guests.

    The girls and I tend to be out of the house between 8am and 6pm wednesday to sunday as I have a north shore restaurant that keeps me very busy. At the restaurant, which has a big focus on organic and local foods, i have a garden and a very friendly community oriented clientele base. Dog and children are often there and the little ones like to help out in the kitchen. We most often eat dinner as a family or as a group with friends, either at the restaurant or at the house, we also enjoy going out to eat at favorite city restaurants.

    my oldest daughter will be starting grade one at the waldorf school in September (she has been home schooled so far) so that is going to be a big change for us and i am looking for a bit of extra support and help around the house and at the restaurant to assist in that transition. We love to spend evenings weather permitting at the river in the forest close to the restaurant, swimming or hiking or making camp fires and roasting marshmallows:)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    As far as house work is concerned, it is the front foyer, the hardwood upstairs floors that need sweeping/mopping, surfaces, bathrooms and laundry, some kitchen things... nothing out of the ordinary.

    I don't use any chemical cleaners so everything is non toxic and safe. There is some gardening especially watering to do as well.

    After i get home from work i want to spend time with the children, make dinner and often study (I also work as a consultant for health and lifestyle problems which requires me to constantly upgrade and broaden my knowledge). Therefore i need help with housework!
    This would add up to no more than two or three hours a day.

    I also would like extra help at the restaurant which is an interesting and stimulating space of learning. I deeply value teaching skills to young people and therefore my staff consists mostly of interns coming in to learn specific things, build a resume by learning varied skills, and constantly finding better ways to do things. This is not a regular restaurant, more like an experimental kitchen:)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    i have two extra upstairs bedrooms, both have been newly renovated with new hardwood flooring, paint etc. they both have windows and are very nice. There is a shared laundry unit and a shared bathroom (for you and guests) as the girls and i have a separate bathroom.
    the living room is nice with comfortable leather furniture and hardwood floors throughout. The dining room is also very nice.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Vancouver is a beautiful city with much to do... in the past most of our exchange students have become like a part of the family and have joined us on many excursions (adventuring in the forest, visiting relatives out of town, helping friends on their farms, exploring local treasures)... but there is a lot of freedom to go out and explore on your own, our house is a 20 min walk from commercial drive, and is easily accessible by bus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 746235717749