Be Part of the Magic at our Community Project Near Santiago, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 497 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The other position (2 people) is unpaid for a volunteer who is not skilled but just looking for a place to crash and some good homecooked vegan meals. You might be able to learn a thing or two about woodworking, power tools, and carpentry but mainly we need an extra pair of hands to help around with everything including some labor, garden watering, cooking, and if you feel like it, occasional babysitting. I have a 4-year old that likes to swim and play games. If you are a swim teacher, this is definitely the place for you! Volunteers work 4-5 hrs a day with 2 days off a week in exchange for meals and accommodation.


    ****
    We are a small community of family, friends vegan cook enthusiasts, and climbers about an hour outside of Santiago in the countryside in Champa. Currently, we are working on transitioning into a more eco way of living and running our businesses. We launched our idea a few years ago with an eco-swimming pool which we rent out for events (schools, weddings, reunions, outings....etc) and have been working around this concept ever since. We currently have 7 garden beds, 1 dome-house garden, and tons of young fruit trees that need ongoing maintenance. Gardening and maintaining the pool will be your main jobs here but we also have a lot of new and ongoing construction projects. We also have a modern design cabin that we rent out. We also do food and kombucha markets and sometimes we will need help fermenting, bottling, labeling, and selling at eco-markets in Santiago. We have a 4-year old smiley and spunky toddler that we ask our Workawayers to occasionally help us out with. Must not fear children! ;) For all you artists and builders out there, we have projects that need your help too. We ask that your work for about 5-6 hours a day. We take a siesta during the hottest hours and Workawayers have 2 days off a week. Javier and I (Nikki) are travelers of 6 and 12 years. We know the ropes of backpacking around the world and love to be in the company of those who feel a true sense of Wanderlust as we do. We are a community of climbers so if you have your gear with you, we'll be happy to show you some of the crags around here. We usually go climbing 2 days a week.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn how to live and work in a community that is blossoming into a more eco-friendly lifestyle :) grow own food
    get to know our cultures, languages

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    kombucha brewing, market runs, gardening, cooking, building, childcare, and creative work.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    What we can offer:
    -We eat a big warm vegan meal, prepared in our community kitchen space. We provide the basics such as bread, spreads, cereals, and fruits for breakfast. For dinner, we usually eat bread with avocado, finger foods, once a week, vegan burgers. You will need to purchase any other snacks on your own.
    - Accommodation: We have an unfinished space upstairs with some random beds, mattresses, and bedding. If you want more privacy, we have an extra tent you can use or you can bring your own tent or van.

    What we expect from you:
    Most of our Workaway experiences have been totally awesome (see our comment section). We do our best to offer versatile work experiences for our Workawayers. We expect proactive, enthusiastic people who work well with others. If you're just looking for a place to crash to ride out the rest of your stay in the country, please don't apply with us. Your experience depends on the attitude you bring here. Some days we will need you early, other days you can sleep in and jump in later. Work is generally scattered throughout the day. During the hottest hours of the day, we usually take a siesta and hang by the pool or relax around the community space. Workawayers are expected to be available all day 5 days a week. You will have two days off to go out and enjoy Santiago, Valparaiso, or the surrounding area. It's pretty relaxed here but we are looking for enthusiastic people who want to be involved, be part of the community, and hang out. We love to go climbing so if you're into it, this project is for you.

    Lastly, this is NOT A FARM. We don't have any animals other than 5 funny, sweet dogs :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Other info:
    - 420 friendly
    - We happily accept families with 1 child
    - We make a weekly shopping trip if you need personal items
    - There are buses to Santiago and the coast if you want to make weekend trips
    - We speak Spanish, German and English

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have tons of space to host camper vans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Friendly companions are welcome but must sleep outdoors or in your van.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours/week, 30 hours/week- paid

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 744837714278