Help us regenerate native bush on our land near the ocean in Opotiki, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

new host  

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a couple working to regenerate native bush on our land near the ocean - with grown-up children, a few mokopuna (grandchildren), and a passion for the environment we love meeting new people and sharing ideas. Our guesthouse has been created to provide a quiet space of wellness and good health - so it is sometimes in use. However, if your travels coincide with available space, we'd love to meet you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be able to learn lots about NZ native forests and native plants. We're interested in sharing ideas about kaitiakitanga - protecting and looking after the environment, including the relationship people have with it.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with general gardening and maintaining our bush track to the beach - it's good to be handy with a pruning saw and secateurs. Some general maintenance like cleaning up outdoor furniture, window cleaning, water blasting. Sometimes helping with children's art projects

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in a large, beautiful studio room with a small kitchen and bathroom. This is private and separate from the main house - overlooking an extensive garden and lawn. The queen bed is super comfy. You'll have the company of many native birds like Kereru, Tui, Pukeko, Fantail, and lots of others. Breakfast is provided in the studio for you - there (there's a fridge) - we provide dinner (and the makings for your lunch) - though there is an option to prepare your own in the studio if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're about 10 minutes by car from Opotiki and 40 minutes from Whakatane. Our area is important historically as an early and prosperous Māori community. You might like to take long walks on our beautiful beach, walk over the ancient Onekawa, Te Mawhai Pa site, take the Heritage trail (full of local stories) around Ohiwa Harbour, or go mountain biking on the Motu trail. Public transport is scarce - but we're happy to pick you up from Opotiki.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good internet connection and this is an inspiring place to work online.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 743939218528