Help modernize and redecorate our property near Düsseldorf, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/10/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am half French and half German for the time being living in Germany (North Rhine Westphalia) near the Dutch border with my wife Isabelle and my two boys, Tristan (8) and Nicolas (2).
    My wife is working full time in Düsseldorf, and I am working abroad. I am working part time from home, part time
    in Luxembourg. We used to have guests in our guest house next door , but for the moment we stopped it, so we have a lot of comfortable room for workawayers.
    We are 25 min aways from Düsseldorf which is a very trendy city, the German city for fashion and design (and contempory Art) and for partying! We are 45 min away from Cologne, an hour away from Maastricht, Eindhoven in the Netherlands and 10 min away from Venlo in the Netherlands. Belgium is only 30 miles away, while Brüssels is only 110 miles away or 1.45 by car as well as Amsterdam.
    We live in the countryside but in a very urban area in fact.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very open family that has lived in different places, you will have a lot of fun with our boys and we are happy to talk in French/German/English. my wife understands Spanish while I perfectly understand Italian and I speak it a little. I'll be happy to show you around and explain you all I can if you are interested people.
    You can use our bikes or use public transport easily (it is all flat here so bikes are perfect).
    We are mainly vegetarian but still we sometimes have meat and fish and we looooove good French or Swiss cheese We try to eat well, not to waste and consume what grows locally.

  • Help

    Help

    We need to repaint rooms inside and to repaint part of the front facade since the paint cracked because of humidity.
    We want to modernize a bathroom (change sink, toilet, tiles...) and finish the upper bedrooms (change the floor)
    there is some minor electric work (change lights into LEDS, check the lights outside...)
    there might be some more work like emptying/cleaning a pond, some gardening etc...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, french, Italian, German, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a separate guest house of about 90 m2 with 2 bedrooms (one with 2 single beds, one with a huge bed 180 cm) one toilet and one bathroom as well as a large living room with TV.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are happy to help you discover the area if the time allows it. We would appreciate if you are smokers, if you smoked outside. If we do not have the time to cook every day, it may happen that we buy some take away lunches or dinners and we hope this will suit you. we usually go to bed quite early (as all Germans do) as Tristan has to get the bus to school at 7 am and my wife has to leave early to get into Düsseldorf before the traffic jams, but this might not be a problem since you will have your own home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 743627158616