1 / 5

Learn about permaculture and gardening on my small farm in the mountains of Valdres, Norway

  • Favourited 102 times
  • Last activity: 20 Mar 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Update! I sold the farm in july 2023, and I am no longer seeking help!

    I am now seeking to be a workaawayer myself! If you have an organic farm with or without animals, I would love to help out!!

    Hi! I am a 45 year old woman living on a small farm in the mountains in Valdres in Norway. I live alone, but have a good network of permaculture and gardening friends here! I grow vegetables, berry bushes and I am working on establishing my forest garden. Autumn 2021 I finished my PDC and I have done very many courses and studies on permaculture and organic gardening. I also do a lot of restauration of the buildings (but you don't have to contribute in that). A lot of trees are being planted little by little, apple, cherry, plum, sea buckthorn, sambucus etc. The place has its own woods and some grasland. Also a pond - thinking of raising fish. I have my own well for water and my own sewage, only the electricity is not off-grid. Lately I installed a bathroom with shower, luxury;) You will be staying in the main house (from 1920, 60 m2) in your own room. I'm looking for someone who has a big interest in permaculture and food forests! But if building and construction is your thing, there's a guestroom/sunroom, greenhouses and a sauna planned.
    The work will mainly be with plants or a combination if you wish; establishing, watering, mulching, harvesting. Designwork if you wish to contribute in that. And the whole ecosystem around water (collecting), energy (green houses and tunnels), compost (like bokashi), soil (like biochar). And with wood, chopping, or making woodchips for my new outdoor compost! I try to eat mainly plantbased (not fanatic), but do eat eggs and some dairy;) maybe you have some good recipies to share? I try to conserve what I produce in summer, and also make waterkefir and yoghurt.
    Here you can come close to nature and away from everyday life. This is a quiet place. There is no wifi, only 4G. If you are interested in yoga, that's possible to include in the day:) One of my hobbies is folkdancing, so if you are interested to try, you are more than welcome to come along! In your free time there is much to discover here, hiking in the mountains, fishing or canoing in lakes. There is an el-bike here you can use to get around. You might see a moose or deer:) I speak norwegian, english, spanish and german. I'd like to welcome you in april, may, june, july or august! All the best, Mari

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you can learn about permaculture, establishing green houses (I have plans on 3 different types), food forests in the mountains, water management, soil and compost management (bokashi, mulching and biochar) - how to live the slow life;)

  • Help


    The help will mainly be with plants, establishing, watering, mulching, harvesting. Some designing if you wish to contribute in that. And the whole ecosystem around water (collecting), energy (green houses and tunnels), compost (like bokashi and outdoor), soil (like biochar). Household chores we will share.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am norwegian, and have worked as a teacher in english, german, norwegian and spanish:)

  • Accommodation


    Your own small cozy bedroom on the 2. floor. Shared livingroom, kitchen and bathroom (which is also a green house;) on the 1.floor. The house is small, but very charming, everything has been restored to its old glory;) there are 2 woodburning stoves here, but I use electric heaters also. In summer it is usually very warm!
    For breakfast, and lunch you can choose if you want to eat together or not, dinners we can alternate in making and washing up (there is no dishwasher here!) Or if you prefer either cooking or washing up, we just arrange what suits you best.
    It is possible to come with a friend or partner also, but the bedroom is small:)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are some buses that go past. I have an electric bike you can borrow and I also have a car to pick you up and drive you around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Please visit my facebookpage Engo Skoghage

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 738359163765

Feedback (4)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with family eco-projects in Stokmarknes, Norway
Help with gardening, animal care and some DYI building projects in Skånevik, Norway