Help at the abandoned village on a Greek island Lefkada, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 212 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are polish couple who have been travelling together for 8 years and before that lived away from home pretty much since teenage years. After having many very diverse experiences of todays world, the winds blew us to this beautiful island where we found ourselves owners of a piece of land miraculously;) we bought this piece of land in an abandoned village, there are few ruins on it and we fell in love with everything that happens here (not much!). I am an artist so In the future we would love this to be a mekka for creative people who want to come back to the simple way of living and get away from the noise of capitalistic life. We would love to create a space where people can come with their group of friends or students and teach them how to play a drum or how to cook greek cuisine or how to paint. Or talk philosophy with a glass of greek ouzo:)
    I love finding food in the nature and preserving it for the winter so I do not have to go to the market and buy strawberry jam thats red as cadmium paint, so would love to teach people how to do so as well. Things like that...
    Mariusz is super relaxed and philosophical person, he loves to discover new aspects of life and connect the dots to make sense of the existence:)
    We use the travels, jobs, people we meet, situations as individual lessons of life long learning so in effect nothing is an error;)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The village we live in has been abandoned about 40 years ago so there is no electricity except a bit of solar system that we have put in our caravan, we have outdoor shower and outhouse, so it is an amazing opportunity to try living in a simple way and see the pluses and minuses of it for yourself, maybe come up with ideas how to make it easier with todays technology but without an footprint on the environment. As its Greece, the nights do not get too cold and the cool shower is actually desirable during the day. Its a bit of a "back to basics" lifestyle:)
    The nearby villagers come driving by sometimes and like to chat to us in greek so there is an opportunity to learn some greek as well for those who are interested.
    I forage a lot and make a lot of my own jams, juices and preserves so if there is any interest in learning how to preserve the summer foods for the wintery days thats also a good opportunity. I pick my own herbs as well and im happy to share all my knowledge.
    There are many amazing places on the island to visit and things to do, and since we lived on the island for few years we can point out very nice places and often take the volunteers on excursions.
    The beach nearest to us is called Vassiliki, world famous for its termal winds and shallow waters perfect for windsurfing. We may even be able to work out a good deal for windsurfing gear for the volunteers.
    We have a van so can bring people to places and also have two bikes which are at the disposition of the volunteers.
    Well, we are hoping you are excited about this and can help us out

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people with some bulging experience ideally, we have a lot of stone work to répare and some indoor works as well...if there was an stone mason who would like to have a bit of Greek holiday this would be a dream!!
    We have spent 5 summers here (about 6 month each year) working on tearing this piece of land out of the strong grip of nature. We managed to create very cute place for us and the visitors to enjoy, but the amount of heavy work does not seem to get smaller:/
    We are expecting the volunteers to work for 5 hours a day 5 days a week, most likely morning time (7-12/13 for example) as it's less hot, and then have free time rest of the day. If the task requires continuous labor throughout the day we can arrange that we work one day and have one whole day off after or that we work 3 days in the row but then have 3 days free and so on... of course we have to agree on it all together.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As we are "living simply" so is the acommodation. We have a Tent that can accommodate 4 people normally but my kitchen is happier when we cook for 4 total, so most of the time we take only 1-2 volunteers at a time.
    I also have to mentioned the fact that there is only an outdoor shower and outhouse, which make you connect to this place even more:)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a van and are happy to bring people places as long as we have time. Otherwise there are two bikes available to the helpers.
    There are also amazing places off the island and we could organize so that we have an excursion here and there.
    We are very flexible and would love to meet the same, it would be amazing if the helpers were happy to help with cooking and clean up but its not obligatory. We try to create a very relaxed atmosphere where people are just happy to hang out, share their life with us and be attentive to life happening all around. As life here happens very slow it is very nice place to quiet down and enjoy as simple things and wathing a flower blooming or listen to a frog song...we have developed a deep appreciation for such things and would love to share them with others.
    I am also an artist, so occassionally i will be painting and anyone is welcome to join in;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    Yes under condition that they are not making damage to the property;)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 737332535749