Young household needing help renovating their home in Melbourne, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 339 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/08/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    402

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    58.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Chloe (33), born and bred in Australia, I own the house and am finishing off some renovations as well as having a fairly extensive vegetable garden - all while working full time. I've been hosting on and off since 2014!

    I've got 2 x permanent housemates, Sally (31) is from England, she started as a workawayer back in January 2020. And Talia (20) from Melbourne. They are both fantastic, easy going and friendly people.

    No children, but I do have two adorable and very loveable large dogs, who spend most of their time inside, absolutely love people and want to be where ever the people are. Nelson is an 8 year old large male and Milly is a 5 year old large female, both are non-allergenic and non-shedding.

    Must love dogs!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a trained chef, so you are guaranteed to be well fed on quality healthy food.

    As far as culture goes... Chloe is a born and bred Melbournian and can share a lot of tips and information about travelling Melbourne and Australia.

    There are lots of great life skills involved when renovating a house and gardening, so there are plenty of useful things to learn if that’s what interests you!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Ideally I look for a couple or two friends who are happy to share a bed, but I will also welcome an individual if they are the right fit.
    I bought an old house a few years back and have been slowly renovating it! So I need all kinds of help, from painting, timber work, filling holes, general yard work and gardening. Any skills, experience or qualifications in renovating or trades are an absolute bonus! But... If you are keen to learn we can teach you what needs to be done. There is plenty of work to be done, so please message me if your keen to pitch in and get your hands dirty!
    Our house is 600m from the train station, where a train will take you directly to Melbourne city in 25-30mins!
    Please be in contact if this is of interest to you.

    Please Note:
    We start all helpers on a 1 week maximum stay, during this time, longer durations can be discussed or negotiated if everyone is happy with the arrangement.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Its a fairly large 2 story suburban home 25-30mins from Melbourne City and airport, and 600m to the train station which will take you directly to Melbourne City, we are a short walk from local parks and shops. Close to local markets, farmers markets, shopping centres and the cinema.
    We finished renovating our first home in 2017, (thanks to the help and support of our helpers) It was such a success, I am now onto my second house! But... I plan to stay in this one.
    We have quality free WIFI and excellent mobile/cell phone coverage. You will have a large private bedroom with a double bed. Bathroom is shared with Sally & Talia. I will cook dinners when I'm are home, if I'm out or otherwise engaged, I will provide food for you to cook with.
    The meals are primarily whole food based. I make my own muesli, and sometimes kefir and kombucha drinks. I am a chef who enjoy quality food, so the helpers are always very well fed!

    Inside areas are non-smoking, smoking outside is fine, you'll need to use an ash tray or dispose of butts responsibly.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Being so close to Melbourne city, there are endless options of what you could get up to on your time off! It all depends on you own personal desires! When we meet you we would be more than happy to answer any questions that you may have or give some advice of great things to do and see in Melbourne!
    The city is very accessible, as the train to the city is a 600m walk down the road, or there are farmers markets close by, cinemas, local parks, cafes and shopping centres.
    We are also a short drive from the Warrandyte river, which is a lovely place for a walk or a swim in the summer time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have strong internet access and there is a small next space in the guest room.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is on street parting round the corner, or I can arrange parting in the driveway if you need you van nearby.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hrs per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 736581942638