Painting and gardening, far Northern California. USA


United States

Favourited 96 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    My husband, John, and I are hosts on our 80-acre "park" -- a farm that has no income farming on it at this time, and is a wooded, natural stream, pasture property one mile from the North Pacific Ocean in Humboldt County, California. We are in our early 70s, and the work of keeping up with this family property is beginning to be difficult . We both work outside the home, in addition to hosting (and cooking for) guests. I am a writer and an editor, and I make documentary films for the local museum. John is a handyman (fixing things, building things, etc.) for other people. We have been hosts for over six years, and we cook both dinners and breakfasts for our guests (we are the yellow farmhouse on the bnb site for Ferndale, California; you can see the reviews for our hosting... we are superhosts and have very good reviews). Our place is four miles outside of a historic Victorian village of 1,500 people, and within 30 miles of the redwood forests.

  • Type of help

    Type of help


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a very good cook; John is an outstanding baker. You can learn to cook and bake. To fix small appliances. To improve your English (I am a writer and an editor.) The region is beautiful for hiking and camping and photography.
    Think of us as your grandparents (or great-grandparents) who have lived all over the U.S., worked in many different industries, and had a variety of life experiences (many of mine are in my memoir/book). We enjoy having the world in our home and in our lives. Our mission state for our life is: To help build a world house of love and laughter where each person, unique and respected, has hope and opportunity.

  • Help


    Gardening (both creative and clean-up); planting; clearing the creek; building trails on the property for guests to take walks. Painting exterior of house. And if it rains, interior painting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish, studying Czech

  • Accommodation


    One of the two bedrooms we have listed on bnb would be available for a Workaway helper. Which room would be assigned would depend on availability. Both are good-sized. One has a private bathroom; the other would share a shower. Meals are served family-style. We will cook dinner and breakfast. The helper can use the kitchen to fix his/her own lunch or snacks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transportation of any kind, and we are four miles from town. You will need a car. I encourage you to read some of the 500 reviews we have on bnb for our two rooms. A word on religion and politics and marijuana: We welcome people of all faiths (and no-faiths). We are not a cannabis location and do not permit smoking or vaping on the property. And, we prefer not to host people who support our current president and his administration.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Springtime in the garden.
Walk to the ocean, one mile away. Beautiful wild north Pacific coast.
John is a wonderful baker. He makes a fresh loaf of whole-wheat bread almost every day.
Early fall on the outdoor deck. 100-year-old grapevine arbors the table. Kitchen windows are on the left.

Host ref number: 734515525967