Come help us around the house and explore parts of Lofoten in Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/06/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Tonje, and together with my family we own a closed farm in beautiful Vindstad. 15 minutes boat ride away from Reine without road connection, far away from traffic noise and hectic life style. Vindstad is located in the most spectacular part of Lofoten - on the doorstep to Lofotodden Nationalpark.

    We live here in our vacations throughout the year. The oldest house on the property was built in the early 1800s, our ancestors engaged in fishing and farming here. To get here you need to take the ferry to Vindstad from Reine. 5 km from Reine is the ferry connecting Moskenes with Bodø. In Reine you can find the local café, restaurant and convenience store. It is the doorstep to many great hikes, museum and spectacular scenery in Lofoten. At times we are not present ourselves, but we will provide housing, food and what is needed for the job. You may experience being alone at Vindstad for periods of time. So this is for those who want tranquility, nature and a fantastic wildlife. Our highest wish is to renovate the old venerable house, so we need the help of talented people who appreciate old traditions and buildings.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Helping out a few ours each day gives you plenty of time to explore parts of Lofoten.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who can help us carpentry inside the old house who can stay minimum one week. We are in particularly in need of workawayers who appreciate old traditions and buildings.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a typical 50's house located right next to the old house to be renovated. The house has three bedrooms and if you come together it is possible that you can get the whole house for yourself. If not, you may have to share your bathroom and kitchen with someone else for periods of time. The kitchen contains everything you need, we have washing machine and dryer. We also have linens for you to use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During winter, the ferry goes two to three times per day to Reine (besides Saturdays). So if you want to go on longer trips you can work more some days to travel around other days.

    Workawayers needs to bring their own working clothes. We provide safety equipment for work and we will bring you food with the ferry - that you make yourself.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours

Host ref number: 733493765233