1 / 5

Help us start our sustainable off-grid farm inTarragona, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 5 times
  • Last activity: 1 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    Hello there!! We are a family of four (sometimes six) living in sunny Spain. We recently gave up our life as a foreign aid workers to settle in a more quiet, meaningful and peaceful life. We bought a piece of land near a small village in the mountains, Paüls, located in Tarragona province and aim to set up a fully sustainable off-grid farm for our family.

    The land we live in has 10 hectares and it is full of olive, almond and carob trees. It also has two traditional stone houses that require some work before we can move in permanently.

    At this stage, we have set up a pretty complete basecamp for the family, with a big tent (30 square meters), and most of the things we need (indoor wood stove, outside kitchen, dry toilet, etc). Every day we progress a little bit in our project (clearing a terrace, making our base camp more comfortable, working on settling the veggies garden, getting organised to plant the fruit trees, working on the houses, etc). However, work is slow, especially with two little girls (4 and 3 years old), and that is why we are looking for some amazing people who would like to come along and give us a hand while enjoying nature and a pretty unconventional lifestyle.

    We offer a stunning natural scenery, the satisfaction of living in an alternative more ecological manner, and the company and care of a welcoming well-travelled family who enjoys meeting people from all over the world.

    We have a separate basecamp for visitors and helpers, so you will have your own tent (25 square meters, with a double bed, wood stove and toilet). We are looking for people with the right attitude. You don't need to have lots of skills or experience, but just be enthusiastic about the project and flexible to help around with whatever is needed (it can be farming, taking care of the animals, accompanying the girls with their daily explorations, light building, shopping, cooking, etc).

    If you feel that this opportunity might be for you, feel free to get in touch with us. We will be happy to answer all your questions and get into more detail.

    Looking forward to meeting you!

    Freddy, Maria, Miah and Mai.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We always try to introduce our visitors and helpers to our culture (whatever that means in a family where we speak three languages and have been born all around the world!). We enjoy practicing new languages and helping others to learn and better understand ours. We try to make the most of your experience and take you places and recommend activities to do. Spain and Catalunya are full of interesting spots to discover and food to taste.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    If you are someone who is excited to work on different tasks, this is the place for you. We need lots of help in different areas and that varies from day to day. From cooking, to gardening, helping to build something, clearing up some plants or taking care of the animals, to spending some quality time with the girls painting or doing crafts with natural elements...everything is possible! We will do our best to keep you informed about the plan for the week and move from there, distributing tasks between all of us.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Vietnamese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own tent for yourself. The tent is big (25 square meters) and already has a double bed and a wood stove for you to be warm and even cook a bit if you need to. you will have access to a dry toilet and an outdoor shower (greenhouse style). We collect our own rain water and have solar generators to charge our devices and lights. you will have your own solar generator for your own use and a set of solar panels to recharge it.
    Travellers are very welcome to use the main outdoor kitchen anytime and share meals with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We normally request helpers to put an approximate amount of 30 hours per week (with tone weekday and the weekend off). During your free time, you can make your own plans or join us if we go somewhere or organise some activities. It is important that you have your own driving licence, as access to our place is quite remote and requires 4x4. the closes village is 4km away, and the main town is a 25 min drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week, with one weekday and full weekend free.

Host ref number: 733399367697