Help out in the countryside outside Ceglie Messapica in southern Italy .

Country

Italy

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/01/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    737

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an Italian/American woman in my early seventies living with a male friend in the home my parents built in 1972 on 3 acres of land in the countryside outside Ceglie Messapica, a small town in the province of Brindisi, region of Puglia (Apulia). I have 4 dogs. I spend my time gardening, painting, cooking, reading.
    The house is on two floors and a 15 minute walk from town. Ceglie Messapica is part of the area of the famous "trulli" - mysterious ancient structures - and has a reputation for excellent restaurants. The beach at Villanova (Ostuni) is a 25 minute drive from here and a public swimming pool is a 5 minute walk from my home. Cost for admittance all day is 6 euros.

    No pesticides or herbicides are used on the land.

    I don't smoke and don't allow smoking inside the house. I'm also a part-time vegetarian :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    I would like someone who could help with general land maintenance, light pruning, weeding, watering, olive-picking (end of October/beginning of November), and use of a weed-whacker (strimmer for the Brits) in Spring. Perhaps cooking for yourself and possibly me could be part of your work hours.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian and English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom with single or double bed, semi-private bathroom with shower (no tub).
    Dietary restrictions such as no wheat or dairy would present a problem because they constitute a large part of my diet.
    Usually it's very quiet around here, except when a little wild animal runs by at night and the dogs go crazy!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The countryside around Ceglie Messapica is agricultural and terraced with dry stone walls. The vegetation includes many olive groves, cactus pears, fig, almond, walnut and other fruit trees. The walk to town is not long, but there are some steep hills involved. In the summer Ceglie hosts many musical events and there are an endless number of pizzerias, restaurants and cafes.
    The beach is a 30 minute drive away, and a public swimming pool is a 5 minute walk from the house.
    There are bike routes.
    You would need a car or taxi to get here from the Ostuni train station, 20 minutes away, or from the Brindisi Airport, 40 minutes away, and to visit other towns.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day/5 days a week per volunteer.

The beach at Torre Guaceto - a protected marine area about 30 minutes from my home.
October 2013 - I'm very proud of my first experience making my own olive oil.
With one of my 4 dogs.
One of the alleys in the historic part of town.
The town castle.
"Trulli". Check them out on wikipedia!
My house - part ancient trullo, part built in the early 70s.
My backyard.
Host ref number: 732289361224