Come and help an Irish/Scottish Family in Somerset, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 349 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    491

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️UPDATE MAY 2019*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Hello Workawayers!

    We are looking for one person from 1st June, aged 21+ with experience of helping in a busy family. This can be your own family! For us your attitude matters way more than your experience. You will be enthusiastic, fun and independent and want to explore this part of the world. This time we mostly need help with household tasks with very occasional babysitting. The kids are all at school, and busy during the week. You will hardly see the older two children from Mon-Fri. And the younger 2 are at school from 9am - 3pm each day. But the household tasks really need some love! If you think you are able to contribute to bring calm to a busy house through your great organisational, tidying and laundry skills please get in touch.

    More about us below!

    We are an Irish/Scottish family living in England. We are Janet, Kenny. We have four children aged 7, 8, 14 and 16. We have 5 overly friendly chickens. And 2 cats called Bibi and Tina. : )

    We live in rural Somerset up a lane about 500 metres from the lovely village of Kilmersdon. From Kilmersdon it is about 30 minutes by car into the beautiful city of Bath and 10 minutes by car into the market town of Frome. There are infrequent buses available in our village. More frequent buses are available in the next town. BUT, we are very close to a cycle path into Frome and Mells and our home looks out onto the beautiful Somerset countryside. Our workawayers use the bikes to explore!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about life in England, improve your spoken English if that's what you need. But you will also learn a lot about family life. And about our surrounding area. The South West is a beautiful part of the UK and there are many things to see and do!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to get stuck in to our family life. What we really need is someone who can take care of the housekeeping duties - sorting out the laundry, clearing up the mess, maybe doing some light cooking. Occasional hoovering. We'll also ask that you babysit on occasion, so some experience with children is good. Or if you come from a big family that is also good for us. We have a busy (noisy) family life and for the right person who is independent enough to go exploring, you can have a wonderful time here.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have a private room in our house with a single bed, internet access. You have access to a bathroom, - this is a shared bathroom with our older teenagers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a beautiful part of England. There is a lot to see locally and we are ideally placed for you take advantage of the city of Bath and the market town of Frome. There is beautiful walking right out our front door

    If you would like to join a family with some well defined jobs that leave you free to explore the area, then we would be delighted to see you. What is most helpful to us are independent travellers who just get stuck in to our family life and exploring the area around them.

    Language Students! We may not be a good fit for you if you are just starting to learn English. We really need someone who has a good grasp of English already. We cannot give you time to practice your English in a formal way as we are usually very tired by the end of the day. : ) But if you are happy to practice your English in a family setting (i.e.with lots of children around usually around the dinner table! - then we may be a good fit.

    If you are interested please email me with a little bit about yourself and your experience so far. We'd love it if you have some references from either previous workaway experiences, or previous experiences with children.

    We look forward to hearing from you! Please note we cannot host anyone under the age of 21.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day. some days it is more, some less.

This is a more recent picture of us all in France last year on holiday.
Dinner in the garden one evening when it was warm!
The youngest one and Workaway Laura: facepainting. : )
This is the view of our village from the nearby cycle path early in the morning.
This is us all in London recently.
Yep. This is how we roll. : )
Playdoh!!!!
This is the only photo I have of Tara! Tara was brilliant at just slotting into our family life and had so much enthusiasm. It was great having her around.
This is our crew and our very first workaway-er - the very hardworking Cal!
This is our house.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 727533517643