Babysitting and some help with our daily life in Hvolsvöllur, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/08/2021

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!

    We are a family of four. We have two sons, 11 years old and a little crazy one, turning 2 years old in October.
    Something about ourselves. Me (Angelia Fjóla) and Hjörvar (housband) have been together since 2008, we got married 2014. We are both 31 years old. We love our hometown, Hvolsvöllur. We moved here in 2017 from Hveragerði and we just love the small town vibe. The town is small, located in south of Iceland, about hour and half from Reykjavík. I work as a hotel manager for the local hotel, Hotel Hvolsvöllur. Hjörvar is at the moment studying building architecture. This summer he will be working in building related job. Hjörvar is also coaching football here in town for the local team, KFR. We have a lot of friends and we are very close to our families, so our home is often quite lively and usually filled with music (without any of us being musical).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Getting to know our beautiful Iceland. Around Hvolsvöllur are so many great attractions to see!
    Reykjavík, the capital, is about an hour away and we have buses going from Hvolsvöllur about 3x a day to the city. We also drive quite often to Reykjavík so it woud be no problem to get a lift if needed.
    The bus goes just about anywhere in the country so you can practically see all of Iceland in the time you would be staying with us.
    We are planning to do some camping this summer and you would be welcome with us on some trips.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like some help with :

    Preparing meals.
    It is important that you know your way around the kitchen. We love enjoying a good meal and you could be required to cook dinner. Our little one has many dietary needs so you might need to learn a thing or two about allergies and intolerance :)

    Cleaning.
    Our house is 130 square meters on one floor. We would require your help with keeping it clean. We will find a plan together how to keep areas tidy and clean :)

    Babysitting.
    Our older son, Brynþór loves football and likes to have someone with him sometimes on the field. He loves the company and is very open to get to know new people. The younger one, Ýmir is at the kindergarden until end of june so we would need help taking care of him all july while the kindergarden is closed due to summer vacation. When your attention is needed with kids, the other help would be minimum. It is very important to us that you are comfortable being around children.


    Other random things: We might ask you to help in various areas of the home, gardening and maintenance etc. But please note that we would never ask you to do anything you are uncomfortable with or something that is out of your ability.

    Maintenance
    We are rebuilding our patio at the moment and the plan is to build a fence in front of the home. If you now your way with tools, Hjörvar would be happy to get some help and company.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    Danish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a bedroom to yourself. The bed would be ether 140x200 cm or 180x200 cm. The room will both be with TV and internet.

    If you want, you can also have a room at the hotel if you would like to have more privacy. The rooms there have 2x 90x200 cm beds, desk, a TV and internet.

    You are welcome to stay every where in the house as other family members.

    We have a big garden and we are building a new patio. We have a hot tub that you could use any time you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you are male and you like football, you can train with the local team and get involved in the community. There is a gym in Hvolsvöllur and a swimming pool. Lots of things to see around Hvolsvöllur, Waterfalls and beautiful nature!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a great wifi connection. There is a desk in the room.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 725273614134