Looking for help developing our livestock and vegetable farm in Sointula, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/04/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    396

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Experience Canadian coastal living on a small island living in a log house. We ethically raise animals to supply our small town with sustainable food. Animals include pigs, sheep, rabbit, goat, chicken, turkey. We also have cats, dogs and horses as pets. We are wanting to grow more of our own vegetables as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are part of a growing network of farms that choose to raise quality local products. This is very different from the current commercial farming industry that neither people or animals benefit from. Learning these skills and sharing them around the world will help to create happier healthier people and animals.

    A little bit about sointula

    Sointula was originally settled in 1902 as a socialist community some morals are still alive today.
    First bilingual telephone operator (English/Finish) and also my grandmother.
    One of Canada's largest wasabi farms.
    Western Canada's oldest co-op (grocery store)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help! The property we live on is much to large for us to develop it on our own our current projects are building animal enclosures, feeding and watering animals, fence maintenance, field maintenance, and doing daily chores.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in the loft of our log cabin

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    if you at all enjoy the outdoors, rocky beaches, coastal trails and friendly people you will have no problem finding things to do in your time off and if none of that interests you we also have 5 dogs that will surely keep you entertained.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 6 days a week

Host ref number: 723967936873