Help us transform our highland home into a permaculture farm in Washington State

Country

United States

Favourited 168 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    274

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are four humans and a bunch of non-humans with 60 beautiful acres in the Okanogan highlands of Washington state that we are transforming into a permaculture farm. We need a lot of help with this task! We can offer a self contained living space, fully loaded with kitchen and bathroom, and three home cooked meals per day in exchange for 5 hours of work per day, 5 days per week. The work is hard, no doubt, but it is rewarding and in a beautiful setting.

    *️2019*️ Volunteer Projects:
    After an awesome season of hosting over the previous year, we have learned a lot about where we need the most help and where our approach as hosts can be strengthened. So this year we are restructuring a bit, and are offering the following:
    Mid April - end of May: We are looking for two travelers who can help us build a garden wall! We are being super experimental, using garbage and concrete in several ways. This will entail learning to make bricks, ferrocement panels, forms, rock pillars, and a variety of other building techniques. This will be the focus of the workaway, and will last until completion, approximately a month and a half. This will be a lot of hard labor! This will be especially rewarding work for those who abound in creativity and energy.

    June-October: We need goatherds! One month stays are ideal. We can host one or two people at a time. The primary work will be taking the goats for a long walk and graze everyday. When you first arrive, we will accompany you and help familiarize you with the herd, the task, and the land. After that you must be able to be independent. If spending 5 hours everyday hiking and lounging in the highlands with the sweetest darn goat faces ever sounds like a good time to you, you might just appreciate being a goatherd.

    We begin every day with tai chi and yoga, and you are welcome to join us if you like. The scenery is spectacular, and the property and surrounding area offers great hiking and outdoor activities and peace of mind. Our home is located 14 miles from the nearest town, and is down 4 miles of rough dirt roads. It is country! But not so remote that you cannot reach others easily.

    We are committed to open and honest communication about expectations, needs, and conflicts of interests, so we will have questions and I imagine you will as well.

    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️Please note, we cannot host pet travelers at this time*️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Okanogan Highlands is a unique and beautiful environment, with wide open land and endless views of the mountains that cradle our many valleys. This is the epitome of rural America. We have rodeo queens and back-to-land hippies living intermingled in a vibrant small town atmosphere. Everybody is separated by one or two degrees. The summers are a time for farms and lakes and long daylight hours, our high latitude making for striking changes in season. We even get a glimpse of the aurora borealis sometimes.

  • Help

    Help

    The primary work for 2019 is the construction of a garden wall, and goat herding. It is very physical labor, and the environment can be trying, with high heat in summer, and insects all around. Proper work clothes are necessary, including good boots and sunhats.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a separate, small, one room guest house with kitchen and bathroom next to our home. It is a comfortable space, simple with very few bells and whistles and comfortably sleeps up to three. We have wi-fi and most cell phones have service. Our house is just next door, and there is a washing machine that guests can use for laundry, and lines to hang it on outside. We will provide three meals per day, but this does not include snacking. The guest cottage has a full kitchen, so we can hash out personal preferences as far as meals go. We like some privacy, but also look forward to sharing dinner everyday.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our location is semi-remote, and transportation will need to be discussed to make sure everyone's needs are met. We go to sleep early, and rise very early, and the work is best done before the heat of the day, so be prepared for early mornings! We do Tai-Chi regularly, and would like to offer lessons to any guests interested as a part of staying with us, but this is by no means mandatory. We follow Taoist philosophies and principles, but are not trying to "sell" our perspective to anyone, and appreciate the same courtesy from our guests (i.e. no proselytization). We have a strict policy of no violence or bigotry at our home. We do have two children, so will ask about your experience and history with kids.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 723933729454