Gardening and organising in the beautiful Dordogne, SW France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 204 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    38  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *availability now*

    We are a young British family which has lived in the Dordogne for the last decade. We are currently converting a stone barn into two holiday cottages for future guests.

    We live at top of the second highest point in the area and can see for 20 miles on a clear day. We are surrounded by farms so there is very little traffic - more tractors than cars! so it is quiet, peaceful and surrounded by green hills and trees.

    Relax on a fifty foot long terrace and drink in the views. Meals are a hearty affair eaten at a long oak table on the terrace; the more friends old and new, the merrier!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My son and I are bilingual English and French, so if you wish to improve either of those languages we are happy to chat away! There are also many beautiful French châteaux and villages to visit.

  • Help

    Help

    As we approach autumn, I need to tidy the garden. Grass cutting on sit on lawn mower, hedge cutting, strumming.

    I have had a very long renovation project. Now my own home, barn and workshop needs some tidying and organisation. If you actually like tidying and cleaning, please come and help me!

    A lesser priority is rustic fence building and planting a wildflower border

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a separate holiday accommodation, so I will provide you with food to make your own breakfast and lunch and some evening meals. The rest of the evening meals; i will cook.

    Should the accommodation become full, I can either accommodate you in the main house, or my second, unrenovated house, with meals, and bathroom taken in the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Dordogne is one of the most popular tourist sites in France, particularly for those with an interest in Medieval history - we have many fairy tale castles within a 20km radius.

    Sarlat has a fantastic Saturday Market, it is the biggest in the Dordogne. For the prehistory enthusiasts we have the Museum of Prehistory in Les Eyzies, Lascaux caves and many grottoes and caves.

    We have a lake a 5 minute drive from the house which has it's own beach and is great for swimming or fishing. There are also lots of rambling paths for keen walkers. In the warmer months, we recommend canoeing on either the Dordogne or Vezere rivers.

    In terms of transport, we are in the middle of the countryside so there is no public transport. Ideally you would need your own car. We can give you a lift to the local town or lend you a bike to explore the local chateaux and villages.

    On arrival, we can also collect you from Sarlat train station (direct trains to and from Bordeaux). There is also a train from Paris which goes to Souillac, then is met by a bus which takes you to Sarlat.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Veronika painting bench
Berti in Workshop
Me - Enasha (I'm not very good at selfies!!)
Formal Italian garden - still a little more planting to be done!
Our field behind the house with the countryside beyond
Brand new stonework on downstairs fireplace
Our current workawayers (Jan 2016); Lilla and Balasz; architects from Hungary.
Two bedroom gite downstairs. Stud walls to be built to left of staircase to house new bathroom. Handbuilt kitchen made from antique oak furniture to be built to right,
Josh making sure we are well stocked with wood for the winter. (Newly built log store on end of bread oven gite.)
Brian chopping logs with chainsaw

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.8)























Host ref number: 723734919858