Help us out on our farm with a lovely farming family in Wairarapa, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy family with two adults and two children. Tom is a farmer and runs our large farm with sheep and cows. Helen is an environmental consultant. William (8) and Eva (5) love getting outside and helping on the farm. Our property is beautiful with large house and gardens and close to the town of Masterton and lots of outdoor activities. We love good food, the beach and to meet travellers from all around the world and show them our beautiful region.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get the opportunity to learn about NZ farming life (we have a large farm with sheep and cows) and be part of a NZ family. We have hosted backpackers for a couple of years and love to hear about your home, culture and traditions as well.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for some help on the farm for the first 2 weeks of December. You will need to be fit, like physical work, be happy working with animals and like working outdoors. You will be working with sheep, weighing lambs and helping to get ready for shearing the sheep. There will be some early morning starts (to get work done before the day becomes too hot) and some longer days (to finish a job to keep the animals safe), but we will always compensate this with extra days off. There may be some work in the house cleaning or in the garden if you or your travel companion do not enjoy farm work.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation will be your own bedroom on the ground floor of our large country house with its own bathroom, which has some privacy from the family bedrooms which are on the first floor. You can use free unlimited wi-fi. Our house is centrally heated (which is rare in NZ) so you will be warm and cosy even if the weather is cold. You will share family meals with us. We have a large vegetable garden and eat mostly our own free range meat, and we can accommodate vegetarians.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We also have a beach house near a beautiful and isolated beach, which we visit regularly and you could help us planting a beautiful garden of native trees as well as enjoying fishing and diving.

    We are 10 minutes away form Masterton which is the main town in the Wairarapa and has all the shops and services you might need, including a train from Wellington (90minutes). We can collect you from the train or bus station.

    There are a couple of good trout fishing rivers nearby, and access to the Tararua Forest Park for tramping at the end of the road.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 722229732929