Join our family for building projects and gardening help on in an intentional community in the lush Thora valley, Australia

Country

Australia

new host  

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/11/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an open-minded, open-hearted and multicultural family of three: Fabio is Brazilian, Leigh is Australian and Laelia is our delightful, inquisitive 7 year old daughter. We live immersed in the forest, on an established (30+ years old) intentional community, on the banks of the beautiful Bellinger river. The water that hydrates our community is pumped from the Die Happy Creek, which borders our share and pulses with the most pristine water that hydrates our bodies. We are collectively working on a project at the moment to rehydrate the landscapes (which were cleared decades ago as this was once a dairy farm), slowing the flow of the water that flows across and pumps through the veins of this rich landscape. While our valley is incredibly lush and green, like everywhere else, we have had unusually low rainfall for years. We love the expansiveness and groundedness of living immersed in nature, and, of our simple way of life in our community. And, we also love the deep connections that emerge - both in terms of new human relationships and the intimacy and beauty of getting to know new landscapes - when journeying into new worlds. We're super easy going, adaptive, and enjoy engaging with and learning from others. We speak Portuguese and English at home.

    We moved onto our one-hectare share 3 1/2 years ago now, which had previously been rented for 14 years. So we essentially have a 'blank canvas' to work with, as for many years our share was under-cared for. We have many projects that we're excited about, both in terms of house 'improvements' and in the landscape, as well water/waste management projects and gardens. We love to receive people in our home. We are very relaxed and so appreciate not having to always 'drive' the flow of things - initiative and collaborative simply a part of the flow of life here. So, we invite people who move through life with initiative and self-responsibility, for whom living with awareness and a sense of deep interconnectivity - with both other humans and the Life-world beyond our human interactions - is intuitive and easeful.
    At the moment, we'd like help with finishing our deck and establishing some new garden beds.

    The area is stunning for exploring. Dorrigo rainforest is 20 minutes away, Bellingen is about 25 mintues, and has great food and a few nice bars for evening hangouts. There's usually a lot of great live music on offer for a small town, but with COVID, this is less frequent. There are amazing beaches all the way along the coastline here. Some of the closest spots where we swim and surf are Urunga, Valla, Sawtell, and also a little further away; Coffs, Moonie and Emerald beach, and to the south, Nambucca and down a little further to Scotts Head.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are embedded in a web of community and collectively share the care of 160 acres. We come together to collectively make decisions about the care of this land and of each other. So it may interest those who are curious about living in an intentional community. Each shareholder has one hectare for personal use, so our home is very private and we have a lot of space for our own projects, with the benefit of community just a walk across the creek. Leigh is a practitioner of human development, who facilitates spaces for personal / spiritual and embodied development and healing, working with both group transformation (in intensive retreats) and one-to-one healing and integration work. So this intentional, inner focus, and the deeper relationship with the inter-being of our life-world, is something that is very present as a constant exploration and unfolding (learning/un-learning) journey in our lives. Fabio is super creative and handy with all things building and he really enjoys co-creating with others, which he does with great generosity and open-heartedness in the sharing of knowledge and experience in a fun, playful way. We are both deeply committed (and intuitively led) in our conscious parenting journey. So, our way of being with our daughter, and the space we co-create with her to both breathe out and explore the world, and come in and be held, is a big focus in our lives. So, I guess a big part of what may be learned in being here in our home and in our working together is not only focussed on knowledge and/or experience, but is exchanged through presence and way of being in the world.

  • Help

    Help

    We would appreciate help with some ongoing projects, including finishing the construction of our new deck and some other small house 'improvement' projects. So practical skills that are useful for building would be desirable for this. We would also appreciate some support in establishing new garden beds, so gardening experience as well as design skills and systems-awareness in the realm of permaculture and biodynamic / organic growing modalities would be very much appreciated! A joy of cooking, so we can share meal preparation, would also be wonderful.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The workawayers will be sleeping in our home, in their own room in the bedroom upstairs (the only room upstairs). For this reason, we can only accommodate a single person or a couple (the bed is queen sized). We have only one bathroom, which you will share with us. The bedroom has a beautiful outlook to the mountains on the other side of the valley. Our house is a country home, built (30 years ago) from timber that was sourced locally and cured on site. While our site is cleared, we really are in the middle of a huge expanse of dense forest, so please be aware that we share this space with an abundance of wildlife; including snakes and goannas (in the summer), spiders, other lizards, brush turkeys, frogs, ticks (in the forest), leeches (down by the creek, when it rains), as well as other cute little creatures such as possums, pademelons (similar to little wallabies), antechinus (little native marsupials that resemble mice), incredible birdlife, and if you're lucky you might even see a platypus in the river. Of course, these creatures live (mostly) outside the house, but if this triggers quite a bit of fear in you, then perhaps our place is not for you.

    We'd prefer that we share the cooking with Workawayers (at least for dinner - breakfast and lunch is self-service). We eat mostly vegetarian - Fabio doesn't eat any meat or fish, Laelia and Leigh do, but not very often. We eat dairy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You'll need to have your own transport if you'd like to explore the area in your free time. There is no public transport, and we are 25 minutes away from Bellingen (and Dorrigo). If you're happy to just go for walks along the valley road, to the river and up the creek, then you could manage here for a while without a car, but we don't go into town all that often. Our home is always very tidy - the kitchen is always cleaned right after we finish eating, for example. We live like this with ease, and it flows with no conversation about who's doing the cleaning. So we welcome people who also live like this with ease - keeping shared spaces tidy and taking initiative to clean up the kitchen and other shared spaces. We also have friends in our community dropping by spontaneously, and we share meals with friends at least once a week. We are not smokers and would prefer non-smokers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The entrance to our share is on the left, before this little bridge crossing the creek.
Our house, tucked into the forest, on our one hectare share.
Building the deck extension
Redoing the driveway / earth-moving for deck extension
Large dining space
This is the spare room, available for the Workawayer to use. When there is no one staying with us we use it as a study. But during visits, you will have private use of this room.
Shared bathroom
One of the swimming holes in the creek that flows through and hydrates our community.
We all love our forest home
Nearby (about 15 minute drive) in the Promised Land. This is the beautiful Never Never River
Near the mouth of the Bellinger River, in Repton (40 minutes drive)
Beautiful beaches all the way along the coastline here. About 45 minute drive from our house.
Host ref number: 718677182899