Help with some interesting projects and learn gardening skills near Asheville, NC, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our property is the land that has been in my family for 7 generations. I am creating a small place of trails, indigenous plants (edible), and beauty. There is a small part of an Appalachian bog at the bottom of the hill. Small camping sites exist. It is a place of stories, history and old songs. The land is situated on the north and north/east side of a small mountain. I am learning about gardening but am a professional musician.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This location is close to the Blue Ridge Parkway with lots of hiking, the French Broad River is near by as well as fine dining. The quaint town of Asheville, NC is only 15 to 20 minutes away. My home is surrounded by a forest and I have five different kinds of lightning bugs, that are here in May and June. The famous, blue ghost lightning bug is one of my guests in the early summer and late spring. I have a Steinway grande piano and would be more than happy to provide instruction and practice opportunities on a regular basis. Chopin is my favorite. I am a musician by profession and help people become better performers. My students have won awards. I also know old European ballads that came here with my family in 1720's. I would be happy to help with English.

  • Help

    Help

    I need to create an outdoor shower, move logs, garden, pull invasive plants. Harvest bamboo for possible use. I would be so thrilled to have someone come who knows something about how the Japanese use gravity to circulate water.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to learn Spanish. But honestly, I have helped others learn English and I would be up for that in exchange for physical labor here on the place.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have 3 bedrooms upstairs with a private bath. Someone could stay up there and have privacy. My bedroom is on the main level. We could discuss what kitchen needs you may have. I don't usually cook very much but will be happy for you to use the kitchen. I can take you to market.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am 2 miles from a Blue Ridge Parkway entrance where there are so many opportunities for great mountain hiking. Asheville, NC offers a variety of activities, kayaks, boating, fishing, biking. I might be about 3 or 4 miles from public transit. Biking is possible. My house is quiet and peaceful. It is dark outside at night.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 717734223479