Come and get the chance to live on a small island surrounded by fresh water in a close-knit community for a year. Island in USA (Wisconsin)

Country

United States

Favourited 93 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/04/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a very small country resort where we rent our cottages to island visitors. My mom runs the business and is going into semi-retirement. She needs someone to help here clean buildings for the few reservations she is still accepting.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The position comes with hourly pay, a private on-site apartment, and meals. The island is a very unique and stunning rural location that becomes a tourist destination over the summer. Summer here mean bond fires by the lake, fishing, swimming, walks in the woods, baseball games, and everything else that living on a small countryside island entails. Over the winter locals snowmobile, ice fish, cross country ski, snow shoe, and just hang out together in our small close-knit community of 700. A car/passenger ferry needs to be taken to reach the beautiful island located in Lake Michigan. There is no stop light, Starbucks, fast food, or movie theater. This is true country living! Most people never get the chance to live on a small island surrounded by fresh water in a close-knit community for a year. This is the opportunity of a life time as it comes with wonderful accommodations in a beautiful setting.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for someone to help my elderly but very active and independent parents who live on a beautiful island in Wisconsin on a large farm with waterfront property. My parents need help with: household chores, running errands, odd jobs around the house, and turning over rental buildings for the occasional guests who pay to rent out cottages on our beautiful lakeshore property. No medical or personal care of either parent is needed. They simply need help getting day-to-day things accomplished on the large retired fruit farm. Keeping the house going is getting a bit overwhelming for them in their old age.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private accommodation separate from main house where parents live. 2 bed room, one bath, with full kitchen, private patio, and BBQ. It's a modern apartment, decorated nicely and it includes Internet and a flat screen TV with satellite cable. There are also kayaks, bikes, a lake side cabana, and lake side fire pit on the property as well as miles of trails through the woods.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My friendly and kind of kooky family needs an extra set of hands around the house to help my very active and independent but elderly parents. The ideal person will have a can do pitch in attitude and will help with anything from cleaning out the fridge to organizing a closet to shopping, to lifting items that are too heavy for my parents to lift. This is basically a personal assistant job that just happens to be located on a beautiful island resort when people pay to rent cottages. In your off hours you will enjoy everything our small island community has to offer. The right candidate will love nature, want to live in the rural country side, be a handy problem solver, and be willing to help with just about any odd task that arises.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20-30 a week

Host ref number: 716375819555