Family living on a moose farm, looking for playful young adults to care for our children this summer in Målilla, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 140 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are currently looking for help during 2020. Please check our calendar.

    Welcome to our Family! Mother Maria, father Hjalmar and the children: Sigrid 13, Ingrid 11, Arvid 9 and Ivar 8 years old. We live on a big old farm were we run a moose park. It is situated in Målilla, Småland right in the middle of endless woods, lakes and famous sights as the Astrid Lindgrens World. We have moose, deer, goats, rabbits, chickens and our beloved dog Hektor and Lady the cat.

    Our business is a tourist attraction and zoo. We also rent holiday homes and our busiest time of the year is from May to September. We are primarily looking for help with our children during their summer holiday from mid June til mid August.

    The parents speak Swedish, English and some German. The older children speak Swedish and English and the younger ones understand English and can speak some.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living on our farm you will have the opportunity to experience a traditional Swedish farm and its surroundings in the beautiful landscape of Småland. And living on a moose farm with lots of other animals is quite an exerience. We are also a Swedish family who are happy to share the Swedish way of life and if you want to learns some Swedish or practise what you know it is perfect.

    When our children were younger we had three different au pairs from Germany that lived with us and it was a great experience for both our children and us parents. We hope to find more friends and new family members through this exchange.

    Lakes and woods are just around the corner and busses to other cities and sights are just 5km away.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Child care, cooking, doing dishes (with dishwasher), playing games, going swimming, house work, bike rides, driving the children to friends etc and just keep them happy during the day when my husband and I work in the moose park. The kids are very independant but their summer holiday is much more fun if they have some company from a playful young adult. Walking our dog is also much needed during the summer when he can´t run free on the farm.

    Cleaning the holiday homes and helping out in the moose park shop is also a possibility if you would like to work more and earn some extra money.

    We would love to host two friends or a couple since you will be living in a cottage on your own and it is more fun for you to have company when you explore the surroundings.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English and German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer accomodation in a very cute cottage on the farm. It has a two bed rooms a living room and a kitchen with a fridge, a small stove and a microwave. There is a fire place for cold or rainy days. The house is perfect for two friends for example. The red cottage in the profile pictures is your house. I can send pictures from the inside when we are in contact.

    There is electricity but no running water or a water toilet. However, don´t be discuraged! There is a very nice outhouse just by the house and you will have water in a big canister in your kitchen. This water is normal drinking water for drinking, cooking, washing and brushing your teeth. You can use the toilets and showers in our house whenever you like.

    Since you have a kitchen you can cook and eat in your house. We provide food or some money if you want to shop yourself. You are also welcome to eat with us but bptj you and us will probably need some private time. You should off course eat breakfast and lunch with the kids when you are with them.

    You will have a tv and a dvd player. We have an extensive movie library where you can borrow all kinds of movies. The house is furnished with beds, sofa, table and kitchen furniture. The kitchen might not have running water but everything you need to cook and eat is there.
    There is a mobile internet in the house. It works fine for surfing and keeping in touch with the outside world but not for streaming movies for example.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is 5km from Målilla by bike. You will have a bike of your own during your stay. From Målilla you can take busses to for example Vimmerby, Hultsfred, Vetlanda and Oskarshamn where you find sights as Astrid Lindgrens World, beaches by the sea and shopping. You can also take the train from Hultsfred to bigger cities as Kalmar, Växjö or even Stockholm if you want to go there for a few days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 714695326634