updated  

Organic and sustainable small family farm in Värmland, Sweden

  • Favourited 616 times
  • Last activity: 17 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hej ya'll...just had a last minute cancelation and are in urgent need of help now and through the month of May from an enthusiastic helper or two who wouldn't mind getting their hands dirty in the co-creation
    of this season's garden ...could it be you? It's a wonderful time of the year to be a part of the Rinnefors experience, plenty of gardening to do and taking care of whatever is in most need of attention Luckily for us we are then fully booked through August, but will be needing help again from September through October. If you'd be interested in helping us out during the harvest months of autumn then feel free to contact us at any time!

    For 40 years Tim & Nina have been the trusted caretakers of this beautiful land around historic Rinnefors in Värmland. Surrounded by forests, lake Rinnen, and the soft sounds of nature, we farm, build, sustain, and co-create...for ourselves and the future generations to come!

    We offer lovely organic food, wholesome company, and a pleasant environment to be together and relax in. It´s always good to have people here who know how to both listen carefully to instructions/suggestions,
    as well as enjoy and value co-creation. We all have something to share and contribute to each other. Regarding tasks, our focus is just as much on the quality of the doing (presence), as it is on the result of that doing. Whatever your experience and skills, if our profile/lifestyle appeals to you, then you are welcome to contact us at any time about visiting.

    We are Nina (61) & Tim (66), loving partners who have been together, and lived on the same piece of land for 40 years. During this time we have raised 2 children, run 2 different organic vegetarian restaurants, as well as a healthcare business which included vegan meal preparation, mindfulness, meditation, and personal development through self inquiry....we are also grandparents to two wonderful small children!

    We have a large family-size organic vegetable farm, including berries, flowers, spices and herbs.
    Our place is a very beautiful and peaceful lakeside property, surrounded by a lot of woodlands. We are into our fourth year as workaway hosts, so we are use to having people staying with us whom we have never met before. Meeting like-minded people from around the world who we can co-create, work, and live together with is something we have come to enjoy very much. We also enjoy playing music and are particularly interested in volunteers who share this interest as well!

    To begin with, you would live in the small cabin, and we would prepare and eat meals together in the main house. How much time we spend together outside of doing tasks and the kitchen hours depends on what kind of chemistry develops between us. It is important to note that the time spent making meals together and keeping the kitchen tidy are not included in the 25 weekly working hours, since this is something we all need and contribute to for each other.

    We are use to having our own private time, so as a visitor you should also be prepared to spend some of your free time on your own. Generally, we suggest a stay of 3-4 weeks, with the possibility of an extention if it feels right for all of us. We also reserve the right to end a volunteers stay early in the case that things are not working out the way we had hoped.

    Our main focus is the continual development of sustainable living, which includes how we relate to our body, mind, and spirit, as well as to the earth which nourishes and hosts us.

    Since we get many requests, it is important for us to know that you have carefully read our profile and respond to what it is that attracts you our way... we´d prefer a couple or two good friends, but even single volunteers are welcome to apply...we have wonderful reviews if you´d like to know more about the experience of previous workawayers...we look forward to hearing from you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Since both Tim and Nina speak English and Swedish fluently there will obviously be a language exchange. We promote a sustainable lifestyle that includes organic farming, creative building, and a variety of healthy lifestyle attitudes...all of which we´d love to share with our guests. We consider ourselves to be the fortunate caretakers of this wonderful property, and have plans to expand the living facilities in a way so that others can also live here and have the opportunity to appreciate what we have been so blessed with. We offer a family-style, collaborative, and supportive environment where guests are invited to explore and expand themselves as human beings. This is an opportunity to learn how to work, rest, and play in a relaxed and conscious fashion...promoting greater health for ourselves and the planet.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The primary focus is on the preparation, maintenance and care of the organic gardens which include a large variety of vegetables, herbs, berries, and flowers. However, this is a small farm and there is always plenty of other things needing attention like wood cutting and stacking, painting, landscaping, building repairs, cleaning, and so on.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two small cabins at the edge of the forest...a smaller one with 2 single beds, and a larger one with one single bed and a double bed. Both cabins have wood-burning heater and electric heaters...both have nice porches with a great view of the property and lake, as well as internet. There are no toilets or kitchens in the cabins. There is an outdoor latrine and our guests are also welcome to use the bathrooms in the main house as needed. Single workawayers should be prepared to stay together in one of the cabins. All meals are prepared and eaten in the main house. We are mainly vegan with a smaller amount of eggs and milk products.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a very beautiful and peaceful lakeside property...we have 3 canoes and a rowboat for lake excursions. We have a good deck on the water for relaxation and swimming. There is also a wood-burning sauna right near the lake. There are some very nice country roads and forests for walking and biking. There is a small town 30 minutes away by car, and a larger town 45 minutes away. We usually make trips to one of these towns 1-2 times a week, and they are also possible to reach by bus or train. We often have family and friends visiting with us, sometimes staying for days or weeks at a time, especially during the summer months.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 456665452414

Feedback (25)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




























Join us in Håltebyen, surrounded by nature's embrace in Ärjang, Sweden
Help us building a barn in Klässbol,Sweden