Help us to practice permaculture and simple living in Santa Catarina, south Brazil

Country

Brazil

Favourited 97 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1037

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Now me and my husband are back from a two year bicycle travel around South America, and we discover the will to live next to nature. So we bought a land that was just pasture for more than 40 years and we plan to plant many native trees and grow some food for subsitence. In order to provide the experience of living in a land, next to nature, producing our own organic food and building our own houses, we are open to host travelers interested to learn our language (portuguese), experience the life in rural Santa Catarina, south Brazil, practicing permaculture and living simple.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can see many diferent practices depending on their interests. For example, how to prepare composts for the use of the garden and the use for the trees, take care of a food garden mixing plants combined in the same bed, experience how to take care of plants and animals, preparations of liquid organic biofertiliser, organic and natural tratments for pests and insects, and overall how is the routine of a rural life. Can see diferent methods to treat used water (grey water), how to heat shower from solar, the use of a composting toilet, and many other permacultural practices.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help taking care of the garden, dig, cary soil, composts, keep soil protectec with straw, plant, seed, etc. We nedd help in bioconstruccion with mud, bottles, bamboo, painting walls, etc. We need a little hand with the cleaning of the house and doing the dishes, help in the kitchen.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Tents/camping.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The town is 4km far. There you can find simple markets. There is some places to know around, 12km far is 'Morro Agudo', a place were people go to fly with paraglides. Around 30km from here there is a touristic town with Austrian style and colonization. There is a prived camping and bar with swiming pools 2km far.
    The routine here is wake up early, work, lunch, break for a nap, work, dinner and sleep early. We enjoy the silence of the fields, some reading and a good conversation. We do not smoke and we hope volunteers respect and do not smoke near common areas. We use compost toylets and rain water. The food we provide is vegan and mostly gluten free. We live here with our parents, sharing the area. We work based on permaculture and agroforestry. We take care of all the residues we produce here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Cultivating corn and beans with straw.

Host ref number: 713881776238