Learn about eco building technics and local wildlife helping at an eco camp in Chilean Patagonia

Country

Chile

Favourited 172 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/03/2018

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm 46 years old ornithologist who run my own business in Chilean Patagonia. My place located into a Andean forest is an Eco Camp where i host people from different places around the world. I came 5 years ago to start it building it just with eco systems and permaculture ideas. No trees were cut, only recycling and re using. Beside the eco camp i also guide birdwatching excursions and some other nature experiences.
    The nearest town is a small village 550 population. One of the most remote locations in Chile, near to the Southern Ice field, where people can experience and share with local people who still keep deep and pure "gauchos tradition" (gaucho is the equivalent to cowboy)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers should help running the place when i'm out guiding my birdwatching tours. Sometimes for half day to a week, it depends.
    Very simple work days, but regarding is an Eco camp, volunteers will be faced and learn ancient technics to pump water and energy the place. Also, they should help welcoming cyclers, backpackers from all around the world, maintenance the compost area, clean up dry toilets, chopping wood and mostly, share with others and read the tons of books in our library. They are also welcome to propose or improve with their own ideas everything where they consider that can help.....eco building is very welcome

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english,italian,spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I recently finish my little adobe building cabin. I offer that place to live and share with some other volunteers and myself (if i'm not guiding) wooden stove, dry toilet, hot water for shower.
    Also (as some other woofers done) they can pit the tent (if they don't have, i can provide it) every where in my property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In my 5 years living here i built very close relations with local people, so i think that people who came to work will be an excellent opportunity to learn more about local life style, and the ancient tradition. Also, i'm a well skilled in eco building technics so they would learn some about this and local wildlife since i guide birdwatching trips.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 2 in the morning and other 2 or 3 evening...

Host ref number: 712984368391

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more