Explore the beautiful Lot valley in South West France, while helping with painting, renovation and gardening, (or cooking and childminding if you prefer) in the large, lively village of Prayssac.

Country

France

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/01/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    247

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are a hardworking but easy going, friendly and enthusiastic English/Norwegian family living in the Lot valley in France. Our project is to downsize from our current "traditional" house to a much smaller eco friendly house, with an organic vegetable farm/market garden. A future very small house will also give us more freedom and time to travel as workaways ourselves. But, before we can build our little, sustainable dream house, we need to sell our current house, so this summer we work on finishing the renovation of our current house before putting it on the market.

    Meet Andy:
    I am a chef who left a hectic career in fine dining in the south of England more than 10 years ago to change pace of life and become a gardener. Passionate about food and healthy, sustainable agriculture, I am now in the process of switching from gardening to market gardening, to produce micro greens and vegetables with principles of organic farming and permaculture.

    Meet Kathrine:
    I am a multidisciplinary visual artist from Norway. Moving here from Oslo 5 years ago, to live with Andy, was my first ever experience of living the countryside. I am also very passionate about what we eat and how we produce food, so I look forward to get hands on experience with food production when we soon take the plunge and start on the marked gardening project for real. I will at the same time continue my work in graphic design, photography, visual arts and crafts.

    Completing the household is Ella, our 3 year old daughter and our 2 cats. We normally speak mostly English in the house, but we also speak french. Plus, Kathrine and Ella speak Norwegian.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to meet new people and exchange ideas. We are enthusiastic about sharing our knowledge about the many things we care about, such as food, gardening and organic food production. We are not strictly vegetarian (Andy loves to barbecue meat once in a while), but we mainly eat vegetarian and vegan food. Kathrine is a passionate graphic designer, photographer and teacher of art workshops. She has recently also started to produce clothes to sell from recycled fabrics. If English is not your first language, we are also more than happy to work on that with you.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with painting, renovation and gardening in our 1950's house set in a large garden, but with possibilities for other tasks such as cooking and childcare if you prefer. You do not need previous painting/renovating/gardening experience, but an eye for detail and motivation to learn a new skill would be useful.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French and Norvegian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can accommodate 2 people in our house, in a twin room (with possibility for an extra bed for a child). The room is on a separate floor, and also has a separate entrance. You will have your own loo, but share the family bathroom for baths/showers. We also have an outdoor sun-heated shower under our walnut tree. Evening meals are generally eaten together, breakfast and lunch will be on a more help your-self-basis, depending on what every one is doing that day. We hope that we can take turns with cooking and food preparations, so that we can all learn some new recipes from each other.

    Our house is less than 5 minutes walking distance from the centre of Prayssac, a small but lively rural market town with approximately 2000 inhabitants. There are several cafés/bars, restaurants, pizzeria, various shops, supermarkets and a cinema often showing films in the original language. In the summer the area offers a variety of festivals, concerts, markets, exhibitions and other activities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our valley, with its amazing views, vineyards, charming villages with markets and festivals, restaurants, forests and the river Lot is great to explore on foot or by bike. We have bikes you can borrow and the nearest riverbank "beach" is only a bike ride away. There are also canoeing and other river activities nearby. There are also busses to our nearest big town, Cahors, with yet more shops, restaurant, museums, concerts and cultural activities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week, but we are flexible.

This is us!
The river Lot is great for bike rides, swimming and canoeing.
Andy's couscous with edible flowers.
From our garden.



Host ref number: 712934113694