Help us in garden and paddock and enjoy farm life in Canterbury, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Typical NZ family farm with a variety of animals, hosted by a bubbly Kiwi/German couple in a rural setting. Many options to explore the area: hidden walkways or a short trip to the big city Christchurch. We are a red deer farm, a family operation with additional beef cattle, sheep and horses. We are located near the Mt. Hutt ski field and the Rakaia George nearby which offers many scenic walkways and Mountain bike tracks. Tasks involve work around the house, our veggie garden and the farm.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to experience the best of both worlds. Farming and South Islands' biggest city close by. New Zealand is one of only a few countries that farms red deer. You will be able to see these majestic animals from your bedroom window. 3 working dogs are part of the family too and if you are keen to learn about farming and how to drive a tractor-its all here.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking forward to meeting people with a positive attitude with a love for the outdoors. We are seeking help with moving break fences, picking rocks and gardening. If you are interested in horses there might be the option to be involved in looking after them as well.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in our house, in your own bedroom with shared facilities alongside us. The fridge will be full and depending on the day we hope share the cooking and have a meal all together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very close to the Mt. Hutt ski field, there a many walkways near the Rakaia George and Christchurch is about 50 min by car. You will need your own transport as we live rural.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We live on a farm, plenty of room :)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Please let us know if you wish to bring a pet

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximal 4-5 Stunden am Tag, 5 Tage die Woche


Host ref number: 712261814295