Help us to build a learning center in Blantyre Malawi.

Country

Malawi

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/03/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    387

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hallo, I'm Rober from Spain, for the next months I will be building a learning center, close to Blantyre (Malawi) and to support this project for some years. I'm part from an Association to develop the countryside in Malawi and in some countries more as it can be Cambodia and Nepal.
    The project is focused in taking advance about the resources around and improve the education in the local people. For that we have amazing project that we are starting right now.
    I love to know new people from everywhere and share knowledge that can help to make a better world for everybody, always I try to mix with the local people because is when you can learn what is happening in the place where I like to work and give a hand.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be in a local community with local people, of course you will learn some chichewa words, traditions from here.... there are many things to do, many things to learn and many things to share. The cultural exchange will be very rich for you. The wonderful of this project that it's supported by local people, so it's not turistic, you will see the reality in Malawi and how people live, living with them and sharing time with them.

  • Help

    Help

    We are starting a new project in Malawi, very close to the chileka airport, Milala. We are building a learning center in that area. The project is based in education through of a sustainable life, taking advance of the natural resources around, and improve the education of the local people.
    Right now we are building the center and we need people who can give us a hand, everybody is welcome to help in this amazing project. People around need new ways to build and new knowledges about works, english speaking, farming, permaculture design, ecobuilding...
    We'll go to pick you up from the Chileka international airport, it's just 20 minutes.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, english, chichewa.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accomodation right now will be in a house with us, a spanish man and my malawian partnership. When the center will be built we'll move there, is very close, just 100 meters.
    Some things to know would be: There is a solar panel it means that to get electricity we depend of the sun (we have also a big battery), no wifi, there is water from a well very close , where you can enjoy and have very rich cultural exchange, some shops nearly where is possible to buy food and whatever thing you need. it's possible move very easy from here, there are always people around who can drive for you on motorbike or on bicycle.
    The place where we are living is a house from the head master from the primary school, where we are also helping in the primary school and preschool, supporting them in teaching and with some school materials.
    The house has 3 rooms, we cook with fire and take shower with the water collected from the well in a bathroom, inside of the house and the toilet is a latrine, just a 5 meter from the house outside. We can provide a mattress (no mosquitera net), we are sleeping in the tent over the mattress inside, it's more comfortable.
    It's not possible provide food right now, we have a lot of expenses but here it's not too expensive the life, also you could deal with someone from the community who could cook for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 711555898214