Help on my organic finca near Granada, Nicaragua

Country

Nicaragua

Favourited 526 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I'm Volker and I have been living in Nicaragua for almost 8 years. At the moment, I am especially looking for help in administrational work which include publicity, internet performance but of course a helping hand with daily tasks is also important.

    In regard to the land, I focus particularly on the cultivation of organic products (fruits, vegetables, herbs, tea) and livestock farming. In addition to sheep, ducks, guinea pigs and dogs, various typical bird species are cared for here, creating an original course of nature not far from the bustle of Granada. My main concern lies on restoring the land according to the laws of nature in order to benefit the wildlife on and around the property.

    I have built three guest houses from mostly natural materials such as clay and bamboo. The idea is to offer an original place to stay for travelers who are interested in experiencing a different side of Nicaragua off the tourist trail.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone who is motivated and reliable and likes to bring in his or her own ideas. As the business is still young, there are many opportunities for you to be creative and work independently. Ideally, you have already worked in some of the required fields but experience is not mandatory. I expect a volunteer to stay for at least two weeks.
    Some knowledge of English and basic Spanish are required – in the Casa, we speak mostly Spanish and German.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will be staying in a private house with a terrace, water and electricity. A shared shower and toilet are located outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Finca is located 15 km outside of Granada and can be reached by local bus (30 mins, 10 Cordoba), the same applies to Managua (1h, 25 Cordoba) and Masaya (20 mins, 9 Cordoba).

    From Granada, take the public bus towards Niqhinomo and ask the bus driver to drop you off at the Parque Central in Diriomo.
    From Managua, take any of the buses going to Penas Blancas, Rivas or Nandaime and ask to get dropped off at the petrol station in Diriomo (there is only one).
    From Masaya, take the direct bus to Diriomo and get off at Parque Central.

    From Parque Central/the petrol station, a moto taxi to the Finca takes about 15 mins and costs 30 Cordoba. The Finca is situated in a quite remote place and most of the way with the moto taxi will lead you through hilly dirt roads.
    Private shuttles from Managua/Granada can be arranged but will be considerably more expensive.

    Bikes and a moped can be rented for excursions around this beautiful rural area (Apoyo Lake, Vulcano Mombacho, Masaya, Catarina, Pueblos Blancos,...).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 days per week/5 hours per day, which can be arranged flexibly

























Host ref number: 711522784579