We live on a 42’ sailboat in St. John in the Virgin Islands and need help with repairing, United States

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a 42’ sailboat in St. John in the Virgin Islands. We are repairing our sailboat after surviving hurricane Irma and Maria. We our putting our Yanmar engine back together as well as our roller furling. We have a 3 cabin mono hull. The guests have their own private head ( bathroom ).we have a dinghy, kayaks and live on the water in Coral Bay. Being willing to climb a 54’ mast is a bonus.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about the U. S. territory’s different islands, St. John, St. Thomas and St. Croix. We are also close to the BVI’s. This island is 3/4 National Park. The locals are West Indian,many are families from the 1800, and descendants of the slaves from the time of the Danish rule until
    The U.S bought the islands in the 1900’s.

  • Help

    Help

    We are putting our engine back together. We need help putting the head stay on the front of the boat. We need help installing a wind vane, we also have some fiberglass repair. I am in the process of sewing a cover ( chaps) for the inflatable dinghy.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, limited German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own bunk & bathroom. ( head )at the aft of the sailboat.
    We are vegetarians and eat some fish and eggs. We will share our food. Should you need meat, that is your responsibility.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off you can hitchhike to the beach, hike the national park trails, take a bus to the town. Take a ferry to St. Thomas. Enjoy the local bars, music and food.
    In general we are up with the sun and back to our boat between 6 pm and 9 pm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 698441564189