Learn about bush craft and natural building at the foot of beautiful Clara Mountain, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a young 26 year old lad from the south of Ireland.
    I have recently returned home from travelling all over Asian and Australia to my father's farm in Millstreet County Cork.
    I welcome help in getting a few projects off the ground and a little help around the farm.
    Projects include making a Campsite and outdoor gym in the forest using natural building techniques, general cleaning and maintenance of our 160 year old home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The house, my father and I , our 4 legged happy family members are as Irish as Guinness.
    We love to chat and exchange our cultures. Both of us have travelled the globe over many decades, our passion is the strange and exotic that this world has to offer.

    For the volunteers that do join us, they will be apart of our little family, we will go on adventures on our days off. We will do these projects but we will also chill out with a hot whiskey around a fire in the evenings and cooking happy hippie veggie dinners.

    I am a very outdoorsy active young fellow so if ye are too that would be ideal.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    - helping to build a Forest campsite and employing bush camp techniques to make shelters
    - helping to put together an outdoor forest gym employing natural building techniques
    - around our 161 year farm house needs a few hands to restore to it's original glory and maintenance and cleaning

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will have their Own bedroom, bunk beds with electric blankets in 160 year old farmhouse at the foot of the beautiful Clara Mountain.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Millstreet is a quaint little country town on the Cork side of the Cork and Kerry border.

    Time off can be spent adventuring the beautiful mountains behind the house.

    Sharing a pint of Guinness with a few locals in the town 1km away.

    You Can come hiking and running with me and my new puppy Border Collie Bonnie any day.

    Killarney and the Ring of Kerry is all within 20minutes drive of the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 698296678313